Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Coordinated School Health & Safety Contacts


Contacts for:

Main Office Phone: 916-319-0914
Fax: 319-0218


Tom Herman, Administrator
916-319-0914
therman@cde.ca.gov

Patricia Boncella, Analyst
Homeless Education
916-319-0384
pboncell@cde.ca.gov

Hilva Chan, Consultant
Project Cal-Well, California School Climate, Health and Learning Survey System (California Healthy Kids Survey, California School Climate Survey, and California School Parent Survey), and Safe and Healthy Kids Annual Report, Online Annual TUPE Report
916-319-0194
hchan@cde.ca.gov

Margarita Garcia, Consultant
TUPE
916-323-0208
mgarcia@cde.ca.gov

Lisa Guillen, Consultant
Foster Youth Services
916-327-5930
lguillen@cde.ca.gov

Rachael Gutierrez, Analyst
TUPE, County Technical Assistance and Leadership Funds
916-319-0196
rgutierr@cde.ca.gov

John Lagomarsino, Consultant
TUPE, Coordinated School Health, Health Education
916-323-1540
jlagomarsino@cde.ca.gov

David McKinney, Office Technician
916-319-0717
dmckinne@cde.ca.gov

Kelli Omoto-Lee, Analyst
Contracts
916-319-0195
komoto@cde.ca.gov

Sarah Planche, Consultant
TUPE, County Technical Assistance and Leadership Funding
916-319-0193
splanche@cde.ca.gov

Sharla Smith, Consultant
Sexual Health Education and HIV/AIDS/STD Prevention Education
916-319-0914
shsmith@cde.ca.gov

Daniela Torres, Consultant
Coordinated School Health
916-319-0284
dtorres@cde.ca.gov

Leanne Wheeler, Consultant
Homeless Education
916-319-0383
lwheeler@cde.ca.gov

Shalonn Woodard, Analyst
TUPE
916-319-0197
swoodard@cde.ca.gov

Nancy Zarenda, Consultant
School Safety
916-445-8441
nzarenda@cde.ca.gov

Questions:   Coordinated School Health and Safety Office | 916-319-0914
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Recently Posted in Health
  • Tobacco Control Laws FAQs (added 28-Nov-2016)
    Frequently asked questions about the new tobacco control laws.
  • Tobacco-Free Certification (DOC) (added 28-Oct-2016)
    Form and instructions detailing the documentation school districts and County Offices of Education need to obtain tobacco-free schools district certification from the California Department of Education.
  • Tobacco-Use Prevention Education Program (updated 11-Oct-2016)
    Provides funding through an application process for tobacco-specific student instruction, reinforcement activities, special events, intervention, and cessation programs for students.