Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Science

Resources and information for enhancing the content knowledge and teaching skills of classroom teachers and links to foundational documents which guide California's science instruction.

CDE Resources

Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for California
Resources and information on the Conceptual Framework and on the development of the NGSS.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)
Information and resources on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.

Environmental Science/Environmental Education
Current environmental education resources, special events, grant opportunities, and a state plan for environment-based education.

California Mathematics and Science Partnership (CaMSP)
Enhancing content knowledge and teaching skills of classroom teachers in mathematics and science.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching
The nation's highest honor for teachers of science and mathematics.

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS)
The California Department of Education (CDE) actively supports teachers in their efforts to achieve advanced certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

Professional Development Resources
These links are created and maintained by outside sources and are not part of the CDE.

Professional Development Events
Please refer to the CDE Conference Calendar for upcoming professional development events.

Recommended Literature: Prekindergarten Through Grade Twelve
Searchable database and other resources for science- and mathematics-related literature.

Parent Handbook for Science (DOC; Posted 12-Mar-2008) | PDF
The handbook includes suggestions for home or family activities, resources to help students, and an overview of California’s science curriculum and requirements in science for high school graduation requirements and college/university admission.

  • Available Translations of the Parent Handbook for Science
    The handbook includes suggestions for home or family activities, resources to help students, and an overview of California’s science curriculum and requirements in science for high school graduation requirements and college/university admission.

Science Safety Handbook for California Public Schools (PDF)
This handbook was updated in 2014 and includes information to help make your kindergarten through grade twelve science environment safe.

Assessment and Accountability

Graduation Requirements
Students must complete at least two yearlong courses, including biological and physical sciences.

State and Federal Resources and Guidance
Guidance, resources, templates and forms related to the No Child Left Behind Act, reauthorized as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), Title II, Improving Teacher and Principal Quality.

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASSP) System
California's new statewide student assessment system.

Contacts

Assessment: Assessment Office; caassp@cde.ca.gov; 916-445-8765
California Mathematics and Science Partnership (CaMSP): Lisa Fassett; lfassett@cde.ca.gov; 916-323-4963
Curriculum and Instruction: Chris Breazeale; cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov; 916-319-0600
Environmental Science/Education: Shannon Gordon; sgordon@cde.ca.gov; 916-319-0190
Framework: Bryan Boyd; bboyd@cde.ca.gov; 916-445-4910
Instructional Materials: Cliff Rudnick; crudnick@cde.ca.gov; 916-319-0736
Professional Development: Karen Shores; kshores@cde.ca.gov; 916-319-0505
Title II, Part A: Juan Sanchez; jsanchez@cde.ca.gov; 916-319-0452

Questions:   STEM | stem@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-5847
Last Reviewed: Thursday, October 15, 2015

Share this Page

Recently Posted in Curriculum Areas

No items posted in the last 60 days.