Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

What are the Common Core Standards?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.


The video "A New Foundation for Student Success" External link opens in new window or tab., commissioned by the Hunt Institute and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), provides an introduction to the Common Core State Standards, including a brief history. Watch more videos on the CCSSO Web site External link opens in new window or tab..






Text transcript of "A New Foundation for Student Success"


Common Core State Standards – The Adoption Process

California Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (PDF; 2MB; Modified Mar-2013 Publication Version)

California Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (PDF; 3MB; Modified Jan-2013 Publication Version)

Send your Common Core questions to:


Questions:   Common Core Systems Implementation Office | | 916-319-0490
Download Free Readers