Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

AIEOC November 2011 Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes for the November 16, 2011 American Indian Education Oversight Committee (AIEOC).

American Indian Education Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes

November 16, 2011


Committee members: Laura Lee George (Chair), André Cramblit (Parliamentarian), Irma Amaro, Deborah DeForge, Helen Doherty, John Focke, Rodney Lindsay, Amber Machamer (Vice Chair), Kathleen Marshall, and Rachel McBride

Absent: Russell “Butch” Murphy (Excused)

Office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (SSPI) Tom Torlakson: Update by Craig Cheslog, Principal Advisor to the SSPI

California Department of Education (CDE) Staff Present: Barbara Pomerantz, Judy Delgado, Chavela Delp, and Ramona Hoffman

Guests: Janine, Colleen Bruno, Judy Jacobs, Stephanie Myers, Andy Andreoli, and Katie Valenzuela

Meeting convened at 10:00 a.m.

ITEM 1―Update from the Office of the SSPI

ITEM 6―Legislative Field Trips

ITEM 8―Striving Readers Comprehensive Literacy (SRCL) Grant in California, presented by Carrie Roberts and Aileen Allison-Zarea

ITEM 9―Native CLASS Act Sponsored Through the Tribal Education Departments National Assembly (TEDNA)

ITEM 2―Public Comment

ITEM 3―CDE Updates

ITEM 4―National Indian Education Association (NIEA) Update

ITEM 5―Tribal Education Status Report (TESR): Presentation of a workshop given by Vern Bia, Education Administrator, and Sandra Freeland, at the 42nd Annual NIEA Convention regarding the history and purpose of the New Mexico Indian Education Act, with a focus on the process and growth of the New Mexico TESR―Update by André Cramblit, AIEOC Parliamentarian

ITEM 7―Legislative Update, presented by Katherine Valenzuela, Policy Advocate at Public Advocates

ITEM 11―Committee Business

            January 25, 2012

            March 16 or 17, 2012 (as the conference at Humboldt State University accommodates)

            July 18, 2012

            November 14, 2012

ITEM 10―Update Regarding the CCSS, presented by Tom Adams, CDE

Laura Lee George―Asked for a motion to adjourn. Kathleen Marshall moved to adjourn the meeting, Helen Doherty seconded. All in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.
Questions: Judy Delgado | | 916-319-0506 
Download Free Readers