Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Regional Assessment Network

Map of California and regional contact information for the Regional Assessment Network (RAN).

The County Office of Education (COE) RAN members represent a sub-committee of the Curriculum and Instruction Steering Committee (CISC) of the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA). The purpose of RAN is to develop a knowledge and understanding about California’s assessment and accountability systems by facilitating communication between the California Department of Education (CDE) and COEs, which represent the schools, districts, and county offices in their region.

Map of regional assessment network as outlined in the table below.

The RAN is a joint effort of the CISC and the Assessment and Accountability Division of the CDE. The decision about whom to appoint as an official COE RAN member is a regional decision, not determined by the CDE. For more information about RAN, contact your regional representative listed below.

Regional Contact Information

Regions Counties Regional Assessment Network (RAN)
Contacts
1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino,
Sonoma

Rick Phelan
Sonoma County Office of Education
707-524-2847
rphelan@scoe.org

2 Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

Jennifer Baker
Shasta County Department of Education
530-225-2048
jbaker@shastacoe.org

Amy Barker
Shasta County Department of Education
530-605-2701
abarker@shastacoe.org

3 Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada,
Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Rachel Perry
Sacramento County Office of Education
916-228-2669
rperry@scoe.net

4 Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa,
San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano
Pamela Tyson
Contra Costa County Office of Education
925-942-3381
ptyson@cccoe.k12.ca.us
5 Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz

Dan Mason
Santa Clara County Office of Education
408-453-4346
dan_mason@sccoe.org

Denise Estrella
Monterey County Office of Education
831-755-0300 ext 110
deestrella@monterey.k12.ca.us

6 Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Jill Polhemus
Stanislaus County Office of Education
209-238-1326
jpolhemus@stancoe.org

Lisa Neugebauer
San Joaquin County Office of Education
209-468-9052
lineugebauer@sjcoe.net

7 Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare

Kathi Felder
Kings County Office of Education
559-589-7046
kathi.felder@kingscoe.org

Corey Greenlaw
Fresno County Office of Education
559-970-6542
cgreenlaw@fcoe.org

Laura Voshall
Tulare County Office of Education
559-651-3044
laurav@ers.tcoe.org

8 San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura, Kern

Joost DeMoes
Kern County Office of Education
661-636-4650
jodemoes@kern.org

Heidi Christensen
Ventura County Office of Education
805-383-1919
hchristensen@vcoe.org

9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego

Jeanette Montano
Imperial County Office of Education
760-312-6578
jmontano@icoe.org

Steve Green
San Diego County Office of Education
858-292-3688
steven.green@sdcoe.net

10 San Bernardino, Inyo, Riverside, Mono

Chun-Wu Li
Riverside County Office of Education
951-826-6601
cli@rcoe.us

Beth Higbee
San Bernardino County Office of Education
909-386-2600
beth_higbee@sbcss.k12.ca.us

Robin McIver-Brown
San Bernardino County Office of Education
909-386-2669
robin_mciver-brown@sbcss.k12.ca.us

11 Los Angeles

Kathryn Edwards
Los Angeles County Office of Education
562-922-6810
edwards_kathryn@lacoe.edu

Marci Perry
Los Angeles County Office of Education
562-922-6742
perry_marci@lacoe.edu

Questions:   Assessment Development and Administration Division | 916-319-0803
Last Reviewed: Monday, January 30, 2017
Recently Posted in Testing
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 207 (added 24-May-2017)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 24, 2017.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 206 (added 18-May-2017)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 17, 2017.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 205 (added 10-May-2017)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 10, 2017.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 204 (added 09-May-2017)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 3, 2017.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 203 (added 27-Apr-2017)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, April 26, 2017.