Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Committee Members

Members of the American Indian Education Oversight Committee.

Erick Alemán
he/him/his
erick@aicrc.org
Tribal Affiliation: Salvadoran-American (Pipil/Lenca)
American Indian Education Center Director, American Indian Child Resource Center

Irma Amaro
she/her/hers
irma.4winds@gmail.com
Tribal Affiliation: Yaqui
Executive Director, Local Indians for Education

Kayla Begay, Ph.D
she/her/hers
krb14@humboldt.edu
Tribal Member: Hoopa Valley Tribe
Tribal Affiliation: Hupa, Yurok, Karuk
Assistant Professor, Humboldt State University

Amber Bill, Ph.D, Candidate in Native American Studies
she/her/hers
Amber.Bill@washoetribe.us
Director, Woodfords Indian Education Center
Tribal Member: Pyramid Lake Paiute

Staci Block, Ed.D, Parliamentarian
she/her/hers
slblock2021@gmail.com
Tribal member: Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Coordinator, Professional Learning and Research, Innovation Division, San Diego County Office of Education

Pam Coronado
she/her/hers
pbowlingcoronado@gmail.com
Tribal Citizen of the Picayune Rancheria of the Chukchansi Indians
Board Chair, Fresno American Indian Health Project
Retired Administrator, Fresno County Superintendent of Schools

Taihvoochi Colegrove
she/her/hers
tahcolegrove@ktjusd.k12.ca.us
Tribal Member: Hoopa Valley Tribe
Afterschool Education and Safety Program Director, Klamath Trinity Joint Unified School District

April Lea Go Forth, Ph.D
rise@citlink.net
Nation: Ani yvwi’ya
Executive Director, Resources for Indian Student Education, Inc.

Sheree Lynn Hibler
she/her/hers
shereehibler@ymail.com
Family Literacy Manager, Owens Valley Career Development Center

Kouslaa Kessler-Mata, Ph.D
she/her/hers
ktkesslermata@usfca.edu
Tribal Affiliation: yak tityu tityu Chumash and Yokut
Associate Professor, University of San Francisco

Lori Labrie
she/her/hers
llabrie@lakecoe.org
Learning Support Specialist, Lake County Office of Education

Kishan Lara-Cooper, Ed.D
she/her/hers
kishan.lara@humboldt.edu
Tribal Affiliation: Yurok/Hupa/Karuk
Tribal Membership: Yurok Tribe
Professor & Chair, Humboldt State University

Melissa Leal, Ph.D
she/her/ella
contact@drmelissaleal.com
Tribal Affiliation: Ohlone/Costanoan Esselen Nation
Faculty/Tribal Liaison, Sierra College

Rebecca Lewis
she/her/hers
rlewis@shastacoe.org
Executive Director of Professional Learning and Leadership Support Services, Shasta County Office of Education

Manny Lieras
he/him/his
manny@aicrc.org
Title VI Indian Education Coordinator, American Indian Child Resource Center
Executive Producer, Injunuity
Assistant Director, Native Like Water

Nicole Lim, Chairperson
she/her/hers
nikkimyers@aol.com
Tribal Affiliation: Pomo
Executive Director, California Indian Museum and Cultural Center

Marc Luker
he/him/his
mluker@pechanga-nsn.gov
Tribal Member: Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians
Tribal Councilman, Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians

Kathleen Marshall
She/her/hers
krmarshall70@hotmail.com
Tribal Membership: Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians
Lead Language and Culture Teacher, Santa Ynez Band of Chumash

Rachel McBride-Praetorius, Co-Chairperson
she/her/his
rmcbride@csuchico.edu
Tribal Member: Yurok Tribe
Director of Tribal Relations, California State University, Chico

Russell “Butch” Murphy
he/him/his
RMurphy@pechanga-nsn.gov
Tribal Member: Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians
Tribal Councilman, Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians

Joely Proudfit, Ph.D
she/her/hers
jproudfit@naqcom.com
Tribal Affiliation: Luiseño/Payómkawichum
Director of the California Indian Culture and Sovereignty Center
Department Chair of American Indian Studies, California State University, San Marcos

Margo Robbins
she/her/hers
mrobbins@ktjusd.k12.ca.us
Indian Education and Language, Klamath-Trinity Joint Unified School District

Yvonne Quintero
She/Her/Hers
yquintero@hpultribe-nsn.gov
Tribal Member: Sherwood Valley Rancheria Band of Pomo Indians
Tribal Affiliation: Pomo
Early Childhood Education Director at Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake Tribe

Rose Soza War Soldier, Ph.D
she/her/hers
Rose.SozaWarSoldier@csus.edu
Tribal Member: Soboba Band of Luiseño Indians
Tribal Affiliation: Mountain Maidu/Cahuilla/Luiseño
Assistant Professor, Native American Studies and Ethnic Studies
California State University, Sacramento

Rhonda Welch-Scalco, Ph.D
she/her/hers
rwelch-scalco@miracosta.edu
Tribal Member: Barona Band of Mission Indians
Tribal Affiliation: Kumeyaay
Faculty, MiraCosta College

Questions: AIEOC Team | AIEOC@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0506 
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Recently Posted in American Indian
  • July 2021 Meeting Minutes (added 23-Sep-2021)
    July 21, 2021, meeting minutes for the American Indian Education Oversight Committee.