Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Middle Grades

Information and resources for middle grades educators and parents. The middle grades consist of early-adolescent students, ten to fourteen years of age, generally in grades six to eight.

Taking Center Stage

Taking Center Stage—Act II (TCSII): Ensuring Success and Closing the Achievement Gap for All of California’s Middle Grades Students is now available on the TCSII Web portal!

Taking Center Stage-Act II (TCSII) Recommendations
These recommendations are the basis of TCSII, a hardcopy and electronic resource for middle level educators. When coherently implemented by schools, these recommendations will raise student achievement in the middle grades.

Middle Grades Information

California Distinguished Schools Program
The California Distinguished Schools Program honors some of California's most exemplary and inspiring public schools. Schools selected for the Distinguished School Award demonstrate significant gains in narrowing the achievement gap.

California Distinguished Schools Honorees
California School Recognition Program (CSRP) distinguished school honorees.  

Questions: David Militzer | | 916-323-5146 
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, July 26, 2017