Bus Driver Instructor Certification Course
The bus driver instructor training course is conducted by the California Department of Education. The three week course lasts a minimum of eight hours a day, five days a week, and includes several night sessions. It covers 44 subject areas, with emphasis on the fundamentals of classroom and behind-the-wheel teaching techniques. The fee for this course is $3,000.00 for CA school districts with total enrollment of more than 2,500 pupils, $2,000.00 for small school districts with total enrollment of 2,500 pupils or less, and $3,600.00 for private contractors.
Purpose of the Course
The course is designed for qualified individuals who have the desire, ability, and attitude to become competent instructors. The applicant will be provided with information on:
- Development of an effective driver training program
- California laws, regulations, and rules governing passenger transportation
- Responsibilities and liabilities of carriers, instructors, and drivers
- Classroom and behind-the-wheel teaching techniques and lesson plans
- Guidelines and procedures for conducting an assessment of a driver training program
- A network of contacts with state transportation officials and local bus driver instructors
- Methods of improving self-confidence in public speaking and vehicle operational skills
For available training dates, please check the Office of School Transportation Course Schedules web page.