Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Application and Training Fees


On June 27, 2017, Governor Brown signed the 2017-18 state budget approved by the Legislature.  The Budget Act includes a significant reduction to the California Department of Education’s Office of School Transportation’s (OST) operating budget. In order to continue to provide the same courses, the course fees will increase and OST will no longer provide student lodging for any of its courses. 

Beginning September 1, 2017, the California Department of Education (CDE) will implement a policy change on the fee structure for many of the training courses and certifications offered by the Office of School Transportation.

If the training course or certification has an application fee associated with it, the following applies:

  • Application fees are non-refundable.
  • Application fees are due at the time the application is received.
  • Application fees must be paid by check or money order only, made payable to CDE, and must not be combined with training or certification fees.

Before submitting any application, carriers are encouraged to carefully select qualified individuals that have the necessary driving skills, the enthusiasm to teach, and the ability to communicate with other drivers while meeting all of the minimum qualifications set forth in the California Education Code.

CDE/OST Courses and Fees

Bus Driver Instructor Certification Course (does not include lodging, transportation, or meals)

  • Application fee $35.00 (to be sent with application)
  • Course fee for CA school districts $3,000.00 (total enrollment of more than 2,500 pupils; due on or before the first day of class)
  • Course fee for small school districts $2,000.00 (total enrollment of 2,500 pupils or less; due on or before the first day of class)
  • Course fee for private contractors $3,600.00 (due on or before the first day of class)

Delegated Behind-the-Wheel Trainer Certification

  • Application fee $35.00 (to be sent with application)
  • Certification fee $1,000.00 per evaluation (to be sent with application)

Bus Driver Instructor Re-Certification  

  • Application fee $35.00 (to be sent with application)
  • Re-certification fee $500.00 per evaluation (to be sent with application)

Transportation Administrator Course (does not include lodging, transportation, or meals)

  • No application fee
  • Course fee $800.00 (to be sent with application)

Special Needs Course (does not include lodging, transportation, or meals)

  • No application fee
  • Course fee $400.00 (to be sent with application)

Bus Driver Instructor Refresher Course (does not include lodging, transportation, or meals)

  • No application fee
  • Course fee $50.00 (nonrefundable; to be sent with application)

Cancellation Policy

  • If you cancel 90 days or more prior to any training course, you will be refunded 100% of the course fee.
  • If you cancel less than 90 days but more than 30 days prior to any training course, you will be refunded 50% of the course fee.
  • If you cancel less than 30 days prior to any training course, you will be ineligible for a refund.

Cancellation Requests

Cancellation requests will only be accepted in writing, and must be mailed to CDE/OST at 825 Riverside Parkway, Suite 110, West Sacramento, CA 95605. CDE/OST will use the postmark date to determine the cancellation request date.

Please visit the Department’s transportation Web page for applications and attendance guidelines. For questions regarding this instructor bulletin or any of the certifications or training courses offered by the California Department of Education’s Office of School Transportation, please call the OST at 916-375-7100.

Questions:   Anna Borges | aborges@cde.ca.gov | 916-375-7100
Last Reviewed: Monday, October 23, 2017
Recently Posted in Transportation