Management Bulletin 08-12
While the California Department of Education continues to operate the California State Preschool Program, the Early Childhood Development Act of 2020 (Senate Bill (SV) 98, Chapter 24, Statutes of 2020) authorized the transfer of many childcare programs from the California Department of Education to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) effective July 1, 2021. The content on this page may include programs that have moved to CDSS. For additional assistance you can either visit the CDSS Child Care Transition web page or call 1-833-559-2420 for more information.
Early Learning and Care Division
Subject: Changes to the Developmental Profile of the Desired Results Regulations
Date: August 2008
Expires: When Superseded
Authority: California Education Code sections 8203 and 8261; California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Section 18272
Attention: Program Directors of Child Care and Development Programs
This Management Bulletin informs existing California Department of Education (CDE), Early Learning and Care Division (ELCD) contractors of the changes to the California Code of Regulations, Title 5 (5 CCR), Education, Section 18272 regarding the Desired Results Developmental Profile. The regulations became effective August 15, 2008.
When the Desired Results Regulations were enacted in September 2003, the required frequency of assessment was once every three months for infants and once every four months for toddlers. Since that time, input from the field as well as from recognized national experts has determined that an assessment once every six months for infants through school age children is sufficient.
Section 18272 of 5 CCR has been amended as follows:
§ 18272. Developmental Profile
(a) Center-based and Family Child Care Home Education Network contractors shall complete the age- appropriate Desired Results Developmental Profile, as defined in subdivision 18270.5(c) of this chapter, for each child who is enrolled in the program for at least 10 hours per week.
(b) The Desired Results Developmental Profile required in subdivision (a) shall be completed for each child within 60 calendar days of enrollment and at least once every six months for infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.
(c) The contractor shall use the developmental profiles to plan and conduct age and developmentally appropriate activities.
(d) If a child has exceptional needs, the developmental profile shall be completed with any necessary accommodations and adaptations. Notwithstanding subdivision (a), a developmental profile is required for a child with exceptional needs even if that child is enrolled less than 10 hours per week.
This Management Bulletin is mandatory only to the extent that it cites a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement. Any portion of this Management Bulletin that is not supported by a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement is not prescriptive pursuant to California Education Code Section 33308.5.