Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Contact the Expanded Learning Division

Contact information for the After School Education and Safety (ASES) Program and the 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program.

Expanded Learning Division

1430 N Street, Suite 3400
Sacramento, CA 95814-5901
Phone: 916-319-0923
Fax: 916-319-0221

Administration

Michael Funk, Director
916-319-0923
mfunk@cde.ca.gov

Elyzabeth Reynaga, Executive Secretary I
916-319-0618
ereynaga@cde.ca.gov

Joshua Brady, Education Administrator I
916-319-0206 (Voicemail Only)
jbrady@cde.ca.gov

Onda Johnson, Education Administrator I
916-319-0923 (Voicemail Only)
ojohnson@cde.ca.gov

Karissa Lujan, Staff Services Manager I
916-319-0210 (Voicemail Only)
klujan@cde.ca.gov

Angela Dotson, Staff Services Manger I
916-319-0614 (Voicemail Only)
adotson@cde.ca.gov

John Waters, Office Technician
916-319-0719 (Voicemail Only)
jwaters@cde.ca.gov

Analysts

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620 (Voicemail Only)
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 6 and 7)

Deborah Denico
916-319-0215 (Voicemail Only)
ddenico@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 8)

Emily Romine
916-319-0290 (Voicemail Only)
eromine@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 4)

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720 (Voicemail Only)
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 11 [Lo–Z])

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308 (Voicemail Only)
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 1 and 2)

Martina Dickerson
916-324-6173 (Voicemail Only)
mdickerson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 10)

Nora Reed
916-327-5928 (Voicemail Only)
nreed@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 5 [Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz] and 9)

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211 (Voicemail Only)
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 5 [Santa Clara County] and 11[A–Li])

Raquel Monteiro
916-319-0540 (Voicemail Only)
rmonteiro@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 3)

Consultants

Chris Breazeale
916-324-8189 (Voicemail Only)
cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Regions 1 and 2

Darrell Parsons
916-319-0314 (Voicemail Only)
dparsons@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 11 (Lo-Z)

Erin Koepke
916-319-0351 (Voicemail Only)
ekoepke@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 7

Fred Buggs
916-445-4577 (Voicemail Only)
fbuggs@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 9

Iqbal Badwalz
916-319-0732 (Voicemail Only)
ibadwalz@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 4

Jen Taylor
916-323-1027 (Voicemail Only)
jetaylor@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 3

Jennifer Moreno
916-319-0200 (Voicemail Only)
jmoreno@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 5

Juan Sanchez
916-319-0623 (Voicemail Only)
jsanchez@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 8

Kelly Faustino
916-319-0264 (Voicemail Only)
kfaustino@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 6

Lindsay Blomberg Johnson
916-319-0289 (Voicemail Only)
lblombergjohnson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 11 (A-Li)

Susie Morikawa
916-319-0537 (Voicemail Only)
smorikawa@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Tom Gaim
916-319-0547 (Voicemail Only)
tgaim@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Education Research and Evaluation Assistant

Sterling Williams
916-319-0632 (Voicemail Only)
swilliams@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Teng Xiong
916-319-0363 (Voicemail Only)
txiong@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 10

Questions:   Expanded Learning Division | expandedlearning@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0923
Last Reviewed: Thursday, April 28, 2022