Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Contact the Expanded Learning Division

Contact information for the After School Education and Safety (ASES) Program and the 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program.

Expanded Learning Division

1430 N Street, Suite 3400
Sacramento, CA 95814-5901
Phone: 916-319-0923
Fax: 916-319-0221

Administration

Michael Funk, Director
916-319-0923
mfunk@cde.ca.gov

Elyzabeth Reynaga, Executive Secretary I
916-319-0618
ereynaga@cde.ca.gov

Joshua Brady, Education Administrator I
916-319-0206
jbrady@cde.ca.gov

Onda Johnson, Education Administrator I
916-319-0923
ojohnson@cde.ca.gov

Beth Lopez, Staff Services Manager I
916-319-0614
blopez@cde.ca.gov

Karissa Lujan, Staff Services Manager I
916-319-0210
klujan@cde.ca.gov

John Waters, Office Technician
916-319-0719
jwaters@cde.ca.gov

Analysts

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 6 and 7)

Deborah Denico
916-319-0215
ddenico@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 8)

Emily Romine
916-319-0290
eromine@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 4)

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 11 [Lo–Z])

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 1 and 2)

Kimi Toya
916-319-0923
ktoya@cde.ca.gov
Analyst (acting fiscal analyst to Region 3)

Martina Dickerson
916-324-6173
mdickerson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 11[La–Li])

Nora Reed
916-327-5928
nreed@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 5 [Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz] and 9)

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Regions 5 [Santa Clara County] and 10)

Raquel Monteiro
916-319-0540
rmonteiro@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants

Consultants

Anissa Sonnenburg
916-319-0632
asonnenburg@cde.ca.gov
Consultant

Chris Breazeale
916-324-8189
cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Regions 1 and 2

Darrell Parsons
916-319-0314
dparsons@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 11

Erin Koepke
916-319-0351
ekoepke@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 7

Fred Buggs
916-445-4577
fbuggs@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 9

Iqbal Badwalz
916-319-0732
ibadwalz@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 4

Jen Taylor
916-323-1027
jetaylor@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 3

Jennifer Moreno
916-0200
jmoreno@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 5

Juan Sanchez
916-319-0623
jsanchez@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Regions 8 and 10 (Inyo and San Bernardino Counties)

Kelly Faustino
916-319-0264
kfaustino@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 6

Susie Morikawa
916-319-0537
smorikawa@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Teng Xiong
916-319-0363
txiong@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 10 (Mono and Riverside Counties)

Questions:   Expanded Learning Division | expandedlearning@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0923
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Recently Posted in Expanded Learning