Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

System of Support for Expanded Learning Contacts

System of Support for Expanded Learning contacts within the 11 service regions of the California County Superintendents' Educational Services Association.

21st Century Community Learning Centers and After School Education and Safety Programs' Regional Team Contacts

The System of Support for Expanded Learning (SSEL), Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics (STEAM), and California Department of Education (CDE) contacts are listed in each region.

Region 1—Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties

Mendocino, Lake, Humboldt, and Del Norte County Contact

Bessie Glossenger
707-467-5152
bglossenger@mcoe.us
SSEL County Lead

Mendocino County Office of Education
2240 Old River Road
Ukiah, CA 95482-6103

Mendocino County Office of Education Region 1 System of Support for Expanded Learning [http://mcoeus.wpengine.com/district-educator-resources/region-1-system-of-support-for-expanded-learning/] External link opens in new window or tab.

Sonoma County and STEAM Hub Contact

Melea Meyer
707-467-5156
mmeyer@mcoe.us
SSEL County Lead and STEAM Hub

CDE Contacts

Chris Breazeale
916-324-8189 (Voicemail Only)
cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308 (Voicemail Only)
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 2—Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity County Contacts

Gloria Halley
530-370-8620
ghalley@bcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Jeff Salberg
530-433-2302
jsalberg@bcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Butte County Office of Education
1859 Bird Street
Oroville, CA 95965-4854

Butte County Office of Education Region 2 Expanded Learning Services [https://www.bcoe.org/Divisions/Statewide--Local-Support-Services/Learning-Support-Region-2/index.html] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Chris Breazeale
916-324-8189 (Voicemail Only)
cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308 (Voicemail Only)
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 3—Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba County Contacts

Monica Gonzalez-Williams
916-228-2644
mgonzalez@scoe.net
SSEL County Lead

Mark Drewes
916-228-2518
mdrewes@scoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Amy Kraft
916-228-2275
akraft@scoe.net
STEAM Hub Lead

Sacramento County Office of Education
P.O. Box 269003
Sacramento, CA 95826-9003

Region 3 After School Expanded Learning and Development [https://www.scoe.net/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Jen Taylor
916-323-1027 (Voicemail Only)
jetaylor@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Raquel Monteiro
916-319-0540 (Voicemail Only)
rmonteiro@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 4—Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo and Solano County Contacts

Akilah Byrd
510-670-4139
abyrd@acoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM Hub Lead

Nora Zamora
510-670-7770
nzamora@acoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Shamia Sandles
510-670-4143
shamias@acoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Alameda County Office of Education
313 West Winton Avenue
Hayward, CA 94544-1198

Alameda County Office of Education Region 4 After School Programs [https://www.acoe.org/Page/474] External link opens in new window or tab.

San Francisco STEAM Hub Contacts

Karen Polk
polkk@sfusd.edu
STEAM County Lead

Mele Lau Smith
lausmithm@sfusd.edu
STEAM Team Member

Karina Henriquez
henriquezk@sfusd.edu
STEAM Team Member

San Francisco Unified School District
555 Franklin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-4456

CDE Contacts

Iqbal Badwalz
916-319-0732 (Voicemail Only)
ibadwalz@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Emily Romine
916-319-0290 (Voicemail Only)
eromine@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 5—Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz County Contacts

Mara Wold
408-313-6059
mwold@montereycoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Lety Gomez-Gong
831-237-0053
lgomezgong@montereycoe.org
SSEL County Team Member and STEAM County Team Member

Monterey County Office of Education
901 Blanco Circle
P.O. Box 80851
Salinas, CA 93912-0851

Region 5 Expanded Learning Partnerships [https://www.region5afterschool.org/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Jennifer Moreno
916-319-0200 (Voicemail Only)
jmoreno@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Nora Reed
916-327-5928 (Voicemail Only)
nreed@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst (Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz counties)

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211 (Voicemail Only)
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst (Santa Clara County)

Region 6—Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne County Contacts

Danielle Jones
209-238-1365
djones@stancoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Shanon Pata
spata@stancoe.org
Budget and Grants Analyst, Prevention Programs

Stanislaus County Office of Education
1100 H Street
Modesto, CA 95354-2338

Stanislaus County Office of Education Region 6 Expanded Learning Programs [https://www.stancoe.org/division/educational-options/prevention-programs/region-6-expanded-learning-programs] External link opens in new window or tab.

Bret States
bstates@sjcoe.net
STEAM Team Member

Kirk Brown
kbrown@sjcoe.net
Division Director, STEM Programs

CDE Contacts

Kelly Faustino
916-319-0264 (Voicemail Only)
kfaustino@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620 (Voicemail Only)
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 7—Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties

Fresno County Contacts

Josh Blecha
559-497-3791
jblecha@fcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Adam Fain
559-497-3828
afain@fcoe.org
STEAM County Lead

Kasey Vang
kavang@mail.fresnostate.edu
STEAM Team Member

Fresno County Office of Education
1111 Van Ness Avenue
Fresno, CA 93721-2002

Fresno's Recreation, Enrichment and Scholastic Help [http://fresnocountyafterschool.org/about] External link opens in new window or tab.

Merced and Mariposa County Contact

Sheilah Brooks
209-381-6675
sbrooks@mcoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Merced County Office of Education
1850 Wardrobe Avenue, Building N
Merced, CA 95341-5908

Merced County Office of Education System of Support for Expanded Learning [https://www.mcoe.org/deptprog/edservices/students/Pages/system-of-support.aspx] External link opens in new window or tab.

Tulare, Kings, and Madera County Contact

Virginia Sepeda
559-741-0812
virginias@tcoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Tulare County Office of Education
7000 Doe Avenue, Building 700
Visalia, CA 93291-8662

Region VII Lead Office for After School Programs [http://www.tcoe.org/AfterSchool/index.shtm] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Erin Koepke
916-319-0351 (Voicemail Only)
ekoepke@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620 (Voicemail Only)
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 8—Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura County Contact

Ernesto Duran
805-437-1379
eduran@vcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Ventura County Office of Education
5100 Adolfo Road
Camarillo, CA 93012-6792

Ventura County Office of Education Region 8 Expanded Learning Services [https://www.vcoe.org/Expanded-Learning-Services/Region-8-Expanded-Learning-Services] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Juan Sanchez
916-319-0623 (Voicemail Only)
jsanchez@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Deborah Denico
916-319-0215 (Voicemail Only)
ddenico@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 9—Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties

Imperial County Contacts

Summer Wong
(760) 312-6135
summer.wong@icoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Brenda San Roman
760-312-6538
bcs44@icoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Miriam Belopolsky
760-312-6498
mbell@icoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Brenda Buzane
760-312-6498
brenda.buzane@icoe.org
STEAM Team Member

Imperial County Office of Education
1398 Sperber Road
El Centro, CA 92243-9621

Imperial County Office of Education Student Well-being [https://www.icoe.org/student-well-being] External link opens in new window or tab.

Orange County Contacts

Manuel Mejia
714-966-4464
mmejia@ocde.us
SSEL County Lead

Suzanne Hill
714-966-4332
shill@ocde.us
SSEL and STEAM Team Member

Holly Steele
714-966-4092
hsteele@ocde.us
Administrator-STEM, Esports, Inside the Outdoors, and ExL

Orange County Department of Education
200 Kalmus Drive
Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5922

Orange County Department of Education System of Support for Expanded Learning Programs [https://ocde.us/EducationalServices/CurriculumInstructionandAcademicEnrichment/ELP/Pages/default.aspx] External link opens in new window or tab.

San Diego County Contacts

Liza Flowers
858-569-3140
liza.flowers@sdcoe.net
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Melissa Minas
858-298-2053
melissa.minas@sdcoe.net
SSEL and STEAM Team Member

San Diego County Office of Education
6401 Linda Vista Road, Room 321-S
San Diego, CA 92111-7319

San Diego County Office of Education System of Support for Expanded Learning [https://www.sdcoe.net/student-services/extended-learning/Pages/extended-learning.aspx] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Fred Buggs
916-445-4577 (Voicemail Only)
fbuggs@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Nora Reed
916-327-5928 (Voicemail Only)
nreed@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 10—Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties

Riverside and Mono County Contact

Allison Haynes
951-826-6246
ahaynes@rcoe.us
SSEL County Lead

Riverside County Office of Education
3939 13th Street
Riverside, CA 92501-3505

Riverside County Office of Education After School Education and Safety Programs [https://www.rcoe.us/departments/student-programs-and-services/pupil-and-administrative-services/expanded-learning-programs] External link opens in new window or tab.

San Bernardino and Inyo County Contact

John Duran
909-386-2949
john.duran@sbcss.net
SSEL County Lead

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools
Education Support Services
601 North E Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0020

Claudia Diaz-Carrasco
405-780-5464
cpdiaz@ucanr.edu
STEAM Team Member

CDE Contacts

Teng Xiong
916-319-0363 (Voicemail Only)
txiong@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Martina Dickerson
916-324-6173 (Voicemail Only)
mdickerson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 11—Los Angeles County

Los Angeles County Contacts

Michelle Perrenoud
562-824-2625
perrenoud_michelle@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Lead

Emily Tay
562-401-5766
tay_emily@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Sue Gevedon
562-940-1783
gevendon_sue@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Los Angeles County Office of Education
ASPIRE
Clark Building, Room 379
9300 Imperial Highway
Downey, CA 90242-2890

Expanded Learning Technical Assistance Unit [https://expandedlearningr11.com/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Lindsay Blomberg Johnson
916-319-0289 (Voicemail Only)
lblombergjohnson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant
Grantees (A-Li)

Darrell Parsons
916-319-0314 (Voicemail Only)
dparsons@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant
Grantees (Lo-Z)

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211 (Voicemail Only)
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst
Grantees (A-Li)

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720 (Voicemail Only)
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst
Grantees (Lo-Z)

Questions:   Expanded Learning Division | expandedlearning@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0923
Last Reviewed: Thursday, October 21, 2021
Recently Posted in Expanded Learning
  • 21st CCLC Reader Recruitment (added 01-Sep-2021)
    21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) and After School Safety and Enrichment for Teens (ASSETs) Programs Reader Recruitment.