Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

System of Support for Expanded Learning Contacts

System of Support for Expanded Learning contacts within the 11 service regions of the California County Superintendents' Educational Services Association.

The System of Support for Expanded Learning (SSEL), After School Education and Safety (ASES), 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC), Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics (STEAM), and California Department of Education (CDE) contacts are listed in each region and can be contacted for technical assistance.

Region 1—Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties

Mendocino, Lake, Humboldt, and Del Norte County Contact

Bessie Glossenger
707-467-5152
bglossenger@mcoe.us
SSEL County Lead

Beth Pine
bpine@mcoe.us
SSEL County Team Member

Mendocino County Office of Education
2240 Old River Road
Ukiah, CA 95482-6103

CDE Contacts

Daniela Solley
916-982-2247
dsolley@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 2—Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity County Contacts

Gloria Halley
530-370-8620
ghalley@bcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Jeff Salberg
530-433-2302
jsalberg@bcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Butte County Office of Education
1859 Bird Street
Oroville, CA 95965-4854

CDE Contacts

Daniela Solley
916-982-2247
dsolley@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Joe Purcell
916-319-0308
jpurcell@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 3—Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba County Contacts

Mark Drewes
916-228-2518
mdrewes@scoe.net
SSEL County Lead

Athena McQuarry
916-228-3991
amcquarry@scoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Amy Kraft
916-228-2275
akraft@scoe.net
STEAM Hub Lead

Cori Ove
cove@scoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Rahele Atabaki
916-990-4065
ratabaki@scoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Sacramento County Office of Education
P.O. Box 269003
Sacramento, CA 95826-9003

Region 3 After School Expanded Learning and Development [https://www.scoe.net/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Jen Taylor
916-323-1027
jetaylor@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 4—Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo and Solano County Contacts

Akilah Byrd
510-670-4139
abyrd@acoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM Hub Co-Lead

Shamia Sandles
510-670-4143
shamias@acoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Lorena Morales-Ellis
510-670-4285
lmoralesellis@acoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Monica Dennis
510-670-4148
mdennis@acoe.org
SSEL County Team Member and STEAM Hub Co-Lead

Alameda County Office of Education
313 West Winton Avenue
Hayward, CA 94544-1198

Alameda County Office of Education Region 4 Expanded Learning Programs [https://www.acoe.org/region4] External link opens in new window or tab.

San Francisco STEAM Hub Contacts

Abbie Ridenour
ridenoura@sfusd.edu
STEAM Team Member

Karina Henriquez
henriquezk@sfusd.edu
STEAM Team Member

San Francisco Unified School District
555 Franklin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-4456

CDE Contacts

Vacant
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Emily Romine
916-319-0290
eromine@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 5—Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz County Contacts

Mara Wold
408-313-6059
mwold@montereycoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Lety Gomez-Gong
831-237-0053
lgomezgong@montereycoe.org
SSEL County Team Member and STEAM County Team Member

Monterey County Office of Education
901 Blanco Circle
P.O. Box 80851
Salinas, CA 93912-0851

Region 5 Expanded Learning Partnerships [https://www.region5afterschool.org/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Lindsay Blomberg Johnson
916-319-0289
lblombergjohnson@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Jennifer Horan
916-319-0620
jhoran@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 6—Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne County Contacts

Danielle Jones
209-238-1365
djones@stancoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Grover Davis
gdavis@stancoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Erin Harrison
eharrison@sjcoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Dana Nance
dnance@sjcoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

Bret States
bstates@sjcoe.net
STEAM Team Member

Annie Cunial
acunial@sjcoe.net
STEAM Team Member

Stanislaus County Office of Education
1100 H Street
Modesto, CA 95354-2338

Stanislaus County Office of Education Region 6 Expanded Learning Programs [https://www.stancoe.org/districts/prevention-programs]External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Kelly Faustino
916-319-0264
kfaustino@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 7—Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties

Fresno County Contacts

Josh Blecha
559-497-3791
jblecha@fcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Adam Fain
559-497-3828
afain@fcoe.org
STEAM Hub Lead

Kasey Vang
kavang@mail.fresnostate.edu
STEAM Team Member

Fresno County Office of Education
1111 Van Ness Avenue
Fresno, CA 93721-2002

Fresno's Recreation, Enrichment and Scholastic Help [http://fresnocountyafterschool.org/about] External link opens in new window or tab.

Merced and Mariposa County Contact

Sheilah Brooks
209-381-6675
sbrooks@mcoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Merced County Office of Education
1850 Wardrobe Avenue, Building N
Merced, CA 95341-5908

Tulare, Kings, and Madera County Contact

Virginia Sepeda
559-741-0812
virginias@tcoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Tulare County Office of Education
7000 Doe Avenue, Building 700
Visalia, CA 93291-8662

CDE Contacts

Rosalyn Clark
916-982-2246
rclark@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Fresno, Kings, Madera, and Tulare County

Susie Morikawa
916-319-0537
smorikawa@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Merced and Mariposa County

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 8—Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura County Contact

Ernesto Duran
805-437-1379
eduran@vcoe.org
SSEL County Lead

Erica Fernandez Zamora
efernandezZamora@vcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Luisa Arechiga
larechiga@vcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Andres Ceja
aceja@vcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Daisey Lopez Valadez
dvaladez@vcoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Matt Harder
SSEL County Team Member

Ventura County Office of Education
5100 Adolfo Road
Camarillo, CA 93012-6792

Ventura County Office of Education Region 8 Expanded Learning Services External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Chris Breazeale
916-324-8189
cbreazeale@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Deborah Denico
916-319-0215
ddenico@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 9—Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties

Imperial County Contacts

Summer Wong
(760) 312-6135
summer.wong@icoe.org
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Brenda San Roman
760-312-6538
bcs44@icoe.org
SSEL County Team Member

Brenda Buzane
760-312-6498
brenda.buzane@icoe.org
STEAM Team Member

Imperial County Office of Education
1398 Sperber Road
El Centro, CA 92243-9621

Imperial County Office of Education Student Well-being [https://www.icoe.org/student-well-being] External link opens in new window or tab.

Orange County Contacts

Manuel Mejia
714-966-4464
mmejia@ocde.us
SSEL County Lead

Elida Garcia
714-327-1073
megarcia@ocde.us
SSEL County Team Member

Susan Prendergast
714-966-4332
sprendergast@ocde.us
SSEL County Team Member

Orange County Department of Education
200 Kalmus Drive
Costa Mesa, CA 92626-5922

Orange County Department of Education System of Support for Expanded Learning Programs [https://ocde.us/EducationalServices/CurriculumInstructionandAcademicEnrichment/ELP/Pages/default.aspx] External link opens in new window or tab.

San Diego County Contacts

Christopher Stephens
858-292-3588
christopher.stephens@sdcoe.net
SSEL County Lead and STEAM County Lead

Liza Flowers
858-569-3140
liza.flowers@sdcoe.net
Expanded Learning Director

Melissa Minas
858-298-2053
melissa.minas@sdcoe.net
SSEL County Team Member and STEAM Team Member

Davina Hale
davina.hale@sdcoe.net
SSEL County Team Member

San Diego County Office of Education
6401 Linda Vista Road, Room 321-S
San Diego, CA 92111-7319

CDE Contacts

Fred Buggs
916-445-4577
fbuggs@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 10—Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties

Riverside and Mono County Contact

Allison Haynes
951-826-6246
ahaynes@rcoe.us
SSEL County Lead

Riverside County Office of Education
3939 13th Street
Riverside, CA 92501-3505

San Bernardino and Inyo County Contact

John Duran
909-386-2949
john.duran@sbcss.net
SSEL County Lead and STEAM Hub County Lead

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools
Education Support Services
601 North E Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0020

CDE Contacts

Jennifer Moreno
916-319-0200
jmoreno@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant

William Wang
916-324-6173
wwang@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst

Region 11—Los Angeles County

Los Angeles County Contacts

Dr. Michelle R. Perrenoud
562-824-2625
perrenoud_michelle@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Lead

Emily Tay
562-401-5766
tay_emily@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Sue Gevedon
562-940-1783
gevedon_sue@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Tom McFadden
562-922-6589
mcfadden_tom@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Suzanne Hill
562-922-6285
hill_suzanne@lacoe.edu
SSEL County Team Member

Los Angeles County Office of Education
Expanded Learning Technical Assistance Unit (ELTAU)
9300 Imperial Highway, ECW 381
Downey, CA 90242-2890

Expanded Learning Technical Assistance Unit [https://expandedlearningr11.com/] External link opens in new window or tab.

CDE Contacts

Iyore Osamwonyi
916-982-2180
iosamwonyi@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant
Grantees (A-Li)

Darrell Parsons
916-319-0314
dparsons@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant
Grantees (Lo-Z)

Anna Lee
916-327-5928
anlee@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst
Grantees (A-Li)

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Fiscal Analyst
Grantees (Lo-Z)

Questions:   Expanded Learning Division | expandedlearning@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0923
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, July 03, 2024