Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

ACSE Membership and Liaisons

Directory of the Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE), including Commissioner, liaison and staff contact information.

Commission Member Names, E-mail Address, Term, and Appointing Body

Commissioners Term Appointment
Stacey Adler
sadler@monocoe.org
01/01/21-12/31/24
California State Board of Education
Marie Alvarado Gil marie.alvaradogil@gmail.com 01/01/21-12/31/24 California State Board of Education
Christina N. Mills
christina.mills.gelardin@gmail.com
01/01/16 -12/31/23
California State Board of Education
Sarah Notch
snotch@smcoe.org
01/01/21-12/31/24
California State Board of Education
Christine Oyakawa
Christine.k.oyakawa@gmail.com
01/01/20-12/31/23 California State Board of Education

Elizabeth A. Estes
Elizabeth@breakingbarriersca.org

01/01/21-12/31/24

Governor's Office

April Lopez
alopez.acse@gmail.com

08/21/18-12/31/23

Governor's Office

Kimberly Salomonson
ksalomonson@sbcglobal.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Steve Winlock
swinlock@scoe.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Havaughnia Hayes-White
havaughnia.white@chaffey.edu
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Assembly

Jeannine Topalian
jtopalian@sbcglobal.net

04/30/18-12/31/23

State Assembly

Dawn Hamilton
dhamilton@khpublicrelations.com
02/06/20-12/31/23
State Assembly

Michele J. Andrus
michelejandrus@gmail.com

01/01/16-12/31/23

State Senate

Gloria Ruiz
glornado20@gmail.com
10/13/20-12/31/23 State Senate
David M. Toston
dtoston@ccee-ca.org
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Senate

Student Commission Member Name

Vacant

In accordance with the ACSE Bylaws, Article I, Section 4, Tenure, "Every Commissioner whose term has expired may continue to discharge the duties of his/her office until his/her successor has qualified."

Legislative Members:

State Senate Member
Richard Pan
916-651-4006
916-651-4966 (fax)
senator.pan@sen.ca.gov

State Assembly Member
Jim Frazier
916-319-2011
916-319-2111 (fax)

Executive Secretary:
Heather Calomese
916-445-4602
916-327-3706 (fax)
HCalomese@cde.ca.gov

State Board Liaison:

Ilene Straus
State Board of Education Liaison
1430 N Street, Room 5111
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-319-0827

Commission Staff Liaison:

Aaron Christensen
916-323-3308
916-327-3706 (fax)
aachristensen@cde.ca.gov

Venetia Davis
916-323-9773
916-327-3706 (fax)
vdavis@cde.ca.gov

Questions: Special Education Division | ACSE@cde.ca.gov | 916-445-4602 
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Related Content
Recently Posted in Special Education

  • Assembly Bill 130 Independent Study FAQs (updated 12-Oct-2021)
    These Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) assist local educational agencies (LEAs) in implementing Assembly Bill 130. This collection represents commonly asked questions, but is not intended to be a complete list of all possible questions or scenarios.
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 08-Oct-2021)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.