Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

ACSE Membership and Liaisons

Directory of the Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE), including Commissioner, liaison and staff contact information.

Commission Member Names, E-mail Address, Term, and Appointing Body

Commissioners Term Appointment
Sara Jocham
sjocham@nmusd.us
01/16/13-12/31/20
California State Board of Education
Christina N. Mills
christina.mills.gelardin@gmail.com
01/01/16 -12/31/23
California State Board of Education
Somer Harding
harding.somer@gmail.com
01/16/13-12/31/20
California State Board of Education
Christine Oyakawa
Christine.k.oyakawa@gmail.com
01/01/20-12/31/23 California State Board of Education

Gina Plate
gplate@ccsa.org

09/13/12-12/31/19

Governor's Office

April Lopez
alopez.acse@gmail.com

08/21/18-12/31/19

Governor's Office

Kimberly Salomonson
ksalomonson@sbcglobal.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Steve Winlock
swinlock@scoe.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Havaughnia Hayes-White
havaughnia.hayes-white@csulb.edu
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Assembly

Jeannine Topalian
jtopalian@sbcglobal.net

04/30/18-12/31/23

State Assembly

Dawn Hamilton
dhamilton@khpublicrelations.com
02/06/20-12/31/23
State Assembly

Michele J. Andrus
auon.michele@gmail.com

01/01/16-12/31/19

State Senate

David Toston
dtoston@edcoe.org
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Senate

Student Commission Member Name

Miguel Infante

In accordance with the ACSE Bylaws, Article I, Section 4, Tenure, "Every Commissioner whose term has expired may continue to discharge the duties of his/her office until his/her successor has qualified."

Legislative Members:

State Senate Member
Richard Pan
916-651-4006
916-651-4966 (fax)
senator.pan@sen.ca.gov

State Assembly Member
Jim Frazier
916-319-2011
916-319-2111 (fax)

Executive Secretary:
Kristin Wright
916-445-4602
916-327-3706 (fax)
kwright@cde.ca.gov

State Board Liaison:

Vacant
State Board of Education Liaison
1430 N Street, Room 5111
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-319-0827

Commission Staff Liaison:

Aaron Christensen
916-323-3308
916-327-3706 (fax)
aachristensen@cde.ca.gov

Questions: Special Education Division | ACSE@cde.ca.gov | 916-445-4602 
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Related Content
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • Guidance for LEA Onsite Visit to NPS (updated 30-Jun-2020)
    Pursuant to AB 1172, effective January 1, 2020, the CDE is required to create and publish criteria for reporting onsite visit findings resulting from monitoring visits to nonpublic, nonsectarian schools (NPS), on or before June 30, 2020.
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 29-Jun-2020)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.
  • ACSE Meeting Webcasts (updated 22-Jun-2020)
    Live and recent webcasts of the California Advisory Commission for Special Education (ACSE) meetings.
  • ACSE Agenda June 17, 2020 (updated 16-Jun-2020)
    Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE) meeting agenda.
  • Ideas for Implementing Employment First Activities (added 01-Jun-2020)
    Helping educators prepare students to make the move from school to paid employment.