Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

ACSE Membership and Liaisons

Directory of the Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE), including Commissioner, liaison and staff contact information.

Commission Member Names, E-mail Address, Term, and Appointing Body

Commissioners Term Appointment
Sara Jocham
sjocham@nmusd.us
01/16/13-12/31/20
California State Board of Education
Keila Rodriguez
keila.rodriguez@meadowsunion.org
01/01/16-12/31/20
California State Board of Education
Christina N. Mills
christina.mills.gelardin@gmail.com
01/01/16 -12/31/19
California State Board of Education
Somer Harding
harding.somer@gmail.com
01/16/13-12/31/20
California State Board of Education
Mildred Browne
brownemildred@gmail.com
01/15/14-12/31/19
California State Board of Education

Gina Plate
gplate@ccsa.org

09/13/12-12/31/19

Governor's Office

April Lopez
alopez.acse@gmail.com

08/21/18-12/31/19

Governor's Office

Kimberly Salomonson
ksalomonson@sbcglobal.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Steve Winlock
swinlock@scoe.net
12/31/17-12/31/21
Governor's Office
Havaughnia Hayes-White
havaughnia.hayes-white@csulb.edu
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Assembly

Jeannine Topalian
jtopalian@sbcglobal.net

04/30/18-12/31/19

State Assembly

Barbara Schulman
Barbara.Schulman@gmail.com
08/20/12-12/31/19
State Assembly

Michele J. Andrus
auon.michele@gmail.com

01/01/16-12/31/19

State Senate

David Toston
dtoston@edcoe.org
12/31/17-12/31/21
State Senate
Gloria Perez-Stewart
gloriaperez@gmail.com
06/18/16-12/31/19
State Senate

Student Commission Member Name

Miguel Infante

In accordance with the ACSE Bylaws, Article I, Section 4, Tenure, "Every Commissioner whose term has expired may continue to discharge the duties of his/her office until his/her successor has qualified."

Legislative Members:

State Senate Member
Richard Pan
916-651-4006
916-651-4966 (fax)
senator.pan@sen.ca.gov

State Assembly Member
Vacant

Executive Secretary:
Kristin Wright
916-445-4602
916-327-3706 (fax)
kwright@cde.ca.gov

State Board Liaison:

Niki Sandoval
State Board of Education Liaison
1430 N Street, Room 5111
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-319-0827
SBESandoval@gmail.com

Commission Staff Liaison:

Matt Traverso
916-323-3308
916-327-3706 (fax)
mtraverso@cde.ca.gov

Questions: Matt Traverso | mtraverso@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-3308 
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 04-Oct-2019)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.
  • ACSE Agenda October 9-10, 2019 (added 27-Sep-2019)
    Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE) meeting agenda.
  • 2019-20 System of Support Events (added 20-Sep-2019)
    Dates included on this calendar are gathered from various sources and are not intended as definitive or official notification from the Special Education Division.
  • WAI State Advisory Meeting September 18-19, 2019 (added 05-Sep-2019)
    WorkAbility I (WAI) State Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda.