Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

California Teachers of the Year Awardees 2020

California Teachers of the Year Awardees for 2020.

News Release and information about the California Teachers of the Year Awardees for 2020.

Additional information can be found on the October 4, 2019, State Superintendent Tony Thurmond Announces 2020 California Teachers of the Year News Release #19-67.

Brenda Barreras

Kindergarten, Multiple Subjects
Good Hope Elementary School, Perris
Perris Elementary School District, Riverside County

Brenda Barreras may be contacted at Good Hope Elementary School at 951-657-5181 or

Sean Bui

National Teacher of the Year Candidate External link opens in new window or tab.
Grades 9–12, English Language Development and Business Law
Cupertino High School, Cupertino
Fremont Union High School District, Santa Clara County

Sean Bui may be reached at Cupertino High School at 408-366-7300 or

Mandy Kelly

Grade 6, Multiple Subjects
Trabuco Mesa Elementary School, Rancho Santa Margarita
Saddleback Valley Unified School District, Orange County

Mandy Kelly may be reached at Trabuco Mesa Elementary School at 949-858-3339 or

Guy Myers

Grades 9–12, Drama, Musical Theatre, Play Production
Burroughs High School, Burbank
Burbank Unified School District, Los Angeles County

Guy Myers may be reached at Burroughs High School at 818-558-4777 or

Katya Robinson

Grades Kindergarten–3, Special Day Class
West Sonoma County Consortium School, Sebastopol
West Sonoma County Union High School District, Sonoma County

Katya Robinson may be reached at West Sonoma County Consortium School at 707-824-7911 or

Questions: Awards Team | | 916-319-0842 
Last Reviewed: Friday, November 15, 2019