Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Math SMC Final Meeting Minutes, September 9, 2013

State of California
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

Instructional Quality Commission
An advisory body to the California State Board of Education

Final Meeting Minutes: September 9, 2013
Mathematics Subject Matter Committee Teleconference Meeting

(Approved on November 21, 2013)

Report of Action

Mathematics Subject Matter Committee Meeting
September 9, 2013
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Instructional Quality Commissioners Present:
  • Louis “Bill” Honig, Chair
  • Jo Ann Isken, Vice Chair
  • Angel Barrett
  • Kristyn Bennett
  • Edward D’Souza
  • Jose Dorado
  • Lori Freiermuth
  • Marlene Galvan
  • Julie Spykerman
  • Carlos Ulloa
  • Lauryn Wild
Commissioners Absent:
  • Angienette “Angie” Estonina
  • Michelle Herczog
  • Carla Herrera
  • Nancy McTygue
  • Socorro Shiels
  • Senator Carol Liu
  • Assembymember Sharon Quirk-Silva
Executive Director:
  • Thomas Adams
State Board of Education Liaisons:
  • Patricia Rucker
  • IIlene Straus

Full Instructional Quality Commission (IQC) and Facilitators

  1. Call to Order:  1:30 p.m. by Commission Chair Honig

  2. 2014 Mathematics Instructional Materials Primary Adoption: Facilitator Refresher Training for Deliberations (Information)

    Mathematics Subject Matter Committee Co-Chair welcomed commissioners and former commissioner Bama Medley to the facilitator refresher training for the 2014 Mathematics Primary Adoption.

    The California Department of Education (CDE) staff explained to the commissioners the deliberations process; specifically the role the commissioners would be as facilitators during the deliberations session. The CDE staff modeled the deliberations process with a simulation.

  3. Other Matters/Public Comment: None

  4. Commission Chair Honig adjourned the meeting at 3:25 p.m.

Last Reviewed: Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Recently Posted in Commissions & Committees