Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

The CREEC Network

The California Regional Environmental Education Community (CREEC) is a network supporting the environmental literacy of California’s students.

The CREEC Network is a program of the California Department of Education. The CREEC Network fosters regional partnerships throughout the state of California to promote environmental education and environmental literacy by providing teachers with access to high quality professional learning opportunities and education resources. Along with statewide sponsors and partners, each of the 11 California CREEC Regions provides professional learning opportunities and resources to educators as well as foster communications among schools and organizations interested in supporting the environmental literacy of California’s teachers and students.

Each CREEC Region can provide information about additional resources available in each county. More information about the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) can be found on the CCSESA External link opens in new window or tab. Web site.

Use the list of Regions below to locate sources for more information.

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County
CREEC Regions Counties Served Within Each Region Contacts Within Each Region

Region 1

Humboldt, Del Norte, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma

Region Contact: Allison Poklemba, email: allison.poklemba@humboldt.edu

Sonoma County Contact: Laura Powell, email: bacreec@comcast.net

Region 2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

Region Contact: Nathan Fairchild, email: nfairchild@shastacoe.org

Region 3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Placer, Nevada, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Region Contacts: Deborah Bruns, email: Deborah.Bruns@ycoe.org and Karen Swan, email: Karen.Swan@ycoe.org

Region 4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano

Region Contact: Dawn O’Connor, email: dawno@acoe.org

Region 5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz

Region Contact: Amity Sandage, email: asandage@santacruzcoe.org

Region 6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Region Contacts: Bret States, email bstates@sjcoe.net and Conni Bock, email: cbock@sjcoe.net

Amador, Calaveras, and Tuolumne Counties Contact: Glen White, email: gwhite@tcsos.us

Region 7

Fresno, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Kings, Tulare

Region Contacts: Jody Bertolucci, email: jbertolucci@fcoe.org and and Jennifer Weibert, email jweibert@fcoe.org

Secondary Contact: Sonya Force, email: sforce@fcoe.org

Region 8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Region Contact: Celeste Royer, email: croyer@slocoe.org

Region 9

Imperial, Orange, San Diego

Region Contact: Crystal Howe, email: crystal.howe@sdcoe.net

Imperial County Contact: John Lazarcik, email John.lazarcik@icoe.org

Orange County Contact: Stephanie Smith, email ssmith@ocde.us

Region 10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino

Region Contact: Mary Walls, email: maryborobiawalls@gmail.com

Inyo, Mono, and Northern San Bernardino Counties Contact: Dave Ficke, email: yosemitedave1@hotmail.com

Eastern Riverside County Contact: Jennifer Futterman, email: jfutterman@rcoe.us

Region 11

Los Angeles

Region Contact: Candice Dickens-Russell, email: crussell@treepeople.org

Lyris Email List

If you would like to receive Environmental Science Education updates via email notification about resources, workshops, institutes, funding opportunities, contests, and legislation related to Environmental Science and Environmental Education, subscribe to the Lyris email list by sending a "blank" message to join-environmental-science-ed@mlist.cde.ca.gov.

If you would like to unsubscribe from the Environmental Science Education Lyris email list, send a "blank" message to unsubscribe-environmental-science-ed@mlist.cde.ca.gov.

Questions

If you have any questions about the CREEC Network, please contact Shannon Gordon by email at sgordon@cde.ca.gov or by telephone at 916-319-0190.

Questions: Standards Implementation Support Office | stem@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-5847 
Last Reviewed: Thursday, July 12, 2018
Recently Posted in Curriculum Areas