Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

CCSS Literacy Resources

Resources to support the teaching of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for literacy in history/social studies, science, and technical subjects.


  • Literacy Design Collaborative External link opens in new window or tab.
    The Literacy Design Collaborative (LDC) incorporates literacy into middle and high school content areas. Designed to make literacy instruction the foundation of the core subjects, LDC allows teachers to build content on top of a coherent approach to literacy. The LDC framework is used by teachers as common templates to create LDC tasks, modules, and courses designed to teach students to meet CCSS Literacy standards while engaging in demanding content.
  • Literacy in Learning Exchange External link opens in new window or tab.
    The National Center for Literacy Education is a coalition of stakeholders representing the premiere education organizations, policy analysts, researchers, and foundations who are working together to identify and share the plans, practices, support systems, and assessments used by educator teams working to improve literacy learning.

History/Social Studies

  • History Blueprint External link opens in new window or tab.
    This site offers curricula, aligned with both the California Content Standards for History-Social Science and the CCSS for Literacy in History/Social Studies, developed by the History Blueprint Team at the California History-Social Science Project. Lessons combine historical investigation, carefully selected primary sources, activities to strengthen reading and writing, and practice evaluating arguments based on historical evidence.


  • Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)
    Information about the current science content standards adopted by the State Board of Education on September 4, 2013. NGSS include specific connections to the CCSS.

Technical Subjects

  • American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages External link opens in new window or tab. (PDF)
    An alignment of the world language standards and the CCSS for ELA. The four strands of the CCSS - Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language - are represented in the National Standards for Learning Languages by the Communication standards (interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational) and the level of proficiency demonstrated. In addition, the standards of the other four goal areas for learning languages—Cultures, Connections, Comparisons, and Communities—also support and are aligned with the CCSS.

More literacy resources are available. Use the keyword search and filters to find specific resources at
Common Core Search.

Resources for
Mathematics | English Language Arts | English Language Development | Literacy

Questions:   Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources Division| | 916-319-0881
Last Reviewed: Friday, October 13, 2023
Recently Posted in Common Core State Standards
No items posted in the last 60 days.