Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

APH Federal Quota Program

Information on the Annual Registration of Legally Blind Students.

American Printing House for the Blind (APH)

The APH is a federal program that promotes independence of people who are blind and visually impaired by providing specialized materials, products, and services needed for education and life. The APH develops and manufactures hundreds of products, tools, and supplies that support students and adults who are visually impaired, helping them to increase their independence.

APH Federal Quota Program

The APH Federal Quota Program allocates federal funds to public and private educational programs that register students who are legally blind. The amount allocated to each agency is based on the number of students registered with the APH. The allocation entitles students to receive textbooks in braille or large print, educational aids, and special equipment at no cost to the local educational agency (LEA).

Eligibility for Registration

In order for students to be eligible for registration in the Federal Quota Program, they MUST meet the requirements as outlined in An Act to Promote the Education of the Blind. Students must:

  • Meets the definition of blindness (MDB)—a central visual acuity of 20/200 or less (using a Snellen chart or an acuity determined in Snellen equivalents) in the better eye with the best correction or a peripheral field of vision no greater than 20 degrees

    Or

    Functions at the definition of blindness (FDB)—when visual function meets the definition of blindness as determined by an eye care specialist (ophthalmologist or optometrist) or other medical doctor such as a neurologist. Students in this category manifest unique visual characteristics often found in conditions referred to as neurological, cortical, or cerebral visual impairment (e.g. brain injury or dysfunction).
  • Be enrolled in a formally organized public or private, nonprofit educational program of less than college level.

  • School-aged students must be enrolled with the registering school or agency on the first Monday in January. Adult students must be registered for at least three months of instruction during the preceding calendar year (an accumulation of 12 weeks).

Registration of Students

At the beginning of every year the California Department of Education opens registration for all qualifying visually impaired students. If your LEA has registered in the previous year, you will be receiving an e-mail with instructions on how to log in to the APH registration system. If you will be registering students for the first time, please contact James Morrison by phone at 916-323-1329 or e-mail at jmorrison@cde.ca.gov.

Registration Letter (PDF)

Instructions for Using the APH Registration System

APH Registration Code Definitions

Sample Parent Permission Letter (PDF)

 

Questions: Clearinghouse for Specialized Media and Technology | csmt@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0881 
Last Reviewed: Friday, September 14, 2018
Related Content
Recently Posted in Publications
No items posted in the last 60 days.