Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Academic Achievement Awards

Honors Title I schools that have demonstrated success in significantly closing the achievement gap between high and low-performing students.

Program Information

A former component of the California Department of Education (CDE) California School Recognition Program (CSRP), the Title I Academic Achievement Awards (AAA) was required by Section 1117 (b) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 2001. The Title I AAA honored schools met a variety of eligibility criteria including designated federal and state accountability measures based on Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and Academic Performance Index (API) requirements. The ESEA required that all states receiving Title I funds establish a program that recognized Title I schools that exceeded AYP for two or more years or significantly closed the achievement gap among numerically significant subgroups. The ESEA of 1965, under the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001, required a State to provide certain types of school support and recognition. Under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) of 2015, the U.S. Department of Education (ED) no longer required States to provide a Title I schools recognition program. At this time, California is not providing a Title I AAA Program.


California School Recognition Program Merchandise
Information about California School Recognition Program (CSRP) merchandise for CSRP Awardees.

Title I Academic Achievement Awards Awardees
Title I Academic Achievement Awards (AAA) Awardees information.

Title I Academic Achievement Awards Downloadable Logos
Title I Academic Achievement Awards (AAA) downloadable logos for use by AAA Awardees.

Questions: Awards Unit | | 916-319-0842 
Last Reviewed: Monday, March 11, 2024