Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Reimbursement Fact Sheet Fiscal Year 2018-19


Important Notice: CACFP Program Moved to CDSS

The Early Childhood Development Act of 2020 (Senate Bill (SB) 98, Chapter 24, Statutes of 2020) authorized the transfer of child care and development programs administered by the California Department of Education to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) effective July 1, 2021. The content on this page may not be current and involves the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) that has moved to CDSS. Visit the CDSS CACFP web page External link opens in new window or tab. or call 1-833-559-2420 for more information.

Child Care and Development Programs
FY 2018–19 Budget Act
Center-based Direct Services

The following are the governing rates for Fiscal Year (FY) 2018–19 for center-based direct service contracts:

The Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR) for General Child Care (CCTR) and Migrant (CMIG) is $47.98 per child day of enrollment (cde) or $11,995.00 per annum based on 250 days of operation (California Education Code [EC] Section 8265 [b] and State Budget Act of 2018, Item 6100-194-0001, Provision 5).

The SRR for full-day California State Preschool Program (CSPP) is $48.28 per cde or $12,070.00 per annum based on 250 days of operation (California [EC] Section 8265 [b] and State Budget Act of 2018, Item 6100-196-0001, Provision 3).

Adjustment Factors
Applicable to reimbursement in accordance with the SRR (EC Section 8265.5)
Children Meeting Specified Criteria Adjustment Factor Adjusted SRR
as $47.98
Adjusted Full-Day State Preschool Rate as $48.28
Infants (birth up to 18 months) 2.07
$99.32 per cde
N/A
Toddlers (18 months up to 36 months)
1.6
$76.77 per cde
N/A
Family Child Care Homes infants and toddlers (birth up to 36 months)
1.4
$67.17 per cde
N/A
Exceptional Needs
1.37
$65.73 per cde
$66.14 per cde
Limited or Non-English Proficient
1.1
$52.78 per cde
$53.11 per cde
Children At Risk of Abuse or Neglect
1.1
$52.78 per cde
$53.11 per cde
Severely Disabled
1.715
$82.29 per cde
$82.80 per cde

The SRR for part-day CSPP is $29.90 per cde or $5,232.50 per annum for 175 days of operation (State Budget Act of 2018, Item 6100-196-0001, Provision 3).

The reimbursement rate for Severely Handicapped (CHAN) programs is $72.97 per cde (Alameda County) and $76.44 per cde (San Francisco County).

Age Classifications for Eligibility
Age Classification and Time Base Center-Based Regional Market Rate
Infants
Birth up to 18 months
Birth up to 24 months
Toddlers
18 months up to 36 months
N/A
Preschool Age
36 months up to Kindergarten
24 month up to age 6
School Age
Kindergarten up to age 13
6 years up to 13 years
Time base: Full-time
6.5 + hours per day
30 + hours per week
Questions:   Early Learning and Care Division | 916-322-6233
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Recently Posted in Early Education
  • Management Bulletin 22-05 (added 15-Sep-2022)
    Revised State Median Income (SMI) ceilings and income ranking table for Fiscal Year (FY) 2022-23.
  • Management Bulletin 22-04 (added 15-Aug-2022)
    Guidance for California State Preschool Program (CSPP) contractors regarding requirements for identifying and collecting data on dual language learners, language characteristics of preschool programs and language composition of program staff.