Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Assembly Bills 1505 and 1507 FAQs

Answers to frequently asked questions related to Assembly Bills 1505 and 1507.

The below frequently asked questions are intended to provide clarification to charter schools, charter authorizers, and stakeholders on matters related to Assembly Bill 1505 External link opens in new window or tab. [Approved by Governor on October 03, 2019] and AB 1507 External link opens in new window or tab. [Approved by Governor on October 03, 2019].

Changes to the State Board of Education Appeal Process

1. How will the State Board of Education review charter appeals that are received after July 1, 2020? (Posted 06-Jul-2020)

Assembly Bill 1505 went into effect on July 1, 2020; however, for charter petitions that were considered by the governing board of a local school district or county office of education under the current law and before AB 1505 took effect, the State Board of Education will review the charter petitions based on the same law that was applied at the local level.

2. My petition to establish a charter school was denied. Do I have the option to appeal to the State Board of Education? (Posted 21-Oct-2020)

If the petition to establish a charter school per California Education Code (EC) Section 47605 was denied by both the school district and county office of education, then the petitioner can appeal to the State Board of Education (SBE). The SBE will review the decision(s) for an abuse of discretion (EC Section 47606[k][2]).

If the petition to establish a charter school per EC Section 47605 was denied by the school district and there is no independent county office of education, then the petitioner can appeal to the SBE. The SBE will review the decision on de novo review (EC Section 47605[k][1][B]).

If the petition to establish a countywide charter school per EC Section 47605.6 is denied, the petitioner does not have the option to appeal to the SBE (EC Section 47605.6[k]).

3. I would like to submit an appeal to the State Board of Education after being denied by the county office of education. What do I need to submit? (Posted 21-Oct-2020)

The petitioner shall submit the petition to the State Board of Education (SBE) within 30 days of denial by the county board of education (California Education Code [EC] Section 47606[k][2][A]).

The petitioner shall include the findings and documentary record from the governing board of the school district and county board of education for the decision being appealed (EC Section 47606[k][2][A]).

The petitioner shall include a written submission detailing, with specific citations to the documentary record, how the governing board of the school district or the county board of education, or both, abused their discretion (EC Section 47606[k][2][A]).

At the request of the petitioner and no later than 10 business days after the request is made, the governing board of the school district and county board of education shall prepare the documentary record, including transcripts of the public hearing at which the governing boards denied the charter (EC Section 47606[k][2][A]).

4. Is there a form or checklist to be included when submitting an appeal to the State Board of Education? (Posted 21-Oct-2020)

A checklist has been developed to assist petitioners with identifying the required elements to be submitted by the petitioner. The form is available at State Board of Education Appeals.

5. How long do I have to submit an appeal to the State Board of Education for consideration after the petition has been denied by the county board of education? (Posted 21-Oct-2020)

A charter school petitioner has 30 calendar days, after the denial by the county board of education, to submit a completed appeals package to the state board (California Education Code Section 47606[k][2][A]).

Continuing Charter Schools and the Charter School Action Form

1. What is the Charter School Action Form? Where is the Charter School Number Form? (Posted 06-Jul-2020)

The Charter School Action Form was created by the California Department of Education (CDE) in response to Assembly Bill 1505 and AB 1507, which defines specific instances in which a charter school is to be treated as “continuing.” The intent of the Charter School Action Form is to aid the CDE in determining charter schools to be treated as “continuing.” Detailed information regarding the Charter School Action Form is available at Charter School Numbers and Changes in Authorizers.

The Charter Schools Division (CSD) still uses the Charter School Number Form to assign numbers to petitions of newly established charter schools; however, this form is no longer posted on the CSD web pages. Upon receipt of the Charter School Action Form, the CSD will review the information submitted and forward the Charter School Number Form to the authorizing local educational agency, as appropriate.

Temporary Prohibition on New Nonclassroom-Based Charter Schools

1. Are new nonclassroom-based charter schools prohibited? (Updated 11-Aug-2021)

California Education Code (EC) Section 47612.7 provides that from January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2025, inclusive, the approval of a petition for the establishment of a new charter school, as defined in EC Section 47612.5(e)(2), is prohibited. Additional information regarding this subject is available at Temporary Prohibition on New Nonclassroom-Based Charter Schools.


Return to Legislation Impacting Charters

Questions:   Charter Schools Division | charters@cde.ca.gov | 916-322-6029
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Related Content
  • Charter Schools
    Public schools providing instruction in any of grades TK–12 created or organized by teachers, parents, community leaders or a community-based organization.
  • Legislation Impacting Charters
    Information for charter school authorizers, charter schools, and parents regarding the implementation of legislation impacting charter schools.
Recently Posted in Charter Schools