Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region

The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.

The FMTAs are responsible for coordinating all monitoring and technical assistance activities for the local educational agencies and special education local plan areas (SELPAs) in their assigned counties, providing information, and facilitating access to technical assistance related to program monitoring and program implementation.

Regional Map

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County

 

County Assigned Consultants

Intensive Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jack Brimhall JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov

916-445-9772

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
3 El Dorado Charter Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Solano Barbara Gaskin BGaskin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3674
4 Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo Aaron Christensen AaChristensen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-3308

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Brad Lacy
BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-327-4219

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Kishaun Thorntona KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Josh Rucker JRucker@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Lisa Bojé LBoje@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684
9 Orange, Imperial, San Diego Sean Howland SHowland@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4547

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Shirley Waegell SWaegell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3533
11 Los Angeles Monica Pecarovich MPecarovich@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3535
11 Los Angeles Bret Galeste BGaleste@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303

Targeted Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jeffrey Reyes JeReyes@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3543

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Alison Greenwood AGreenwood@cde.ca.gov 916-327-9626

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Vincent Pastorino VPastorino@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0839

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3703

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego John Burch JBurch@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Susan Olsen SOlsen@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

11

Los Angeles

Tamara McMillan TMcMillan@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1852

SELPA Local Plan Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Peggy Hernandez PHernandez@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Peggy Hernandez PHernandez@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Matthew Wilkins MWilkins@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Alison Ball ABall@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Alison Ball ABall@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Matthew Wilkins MWilkins@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Alison Ball ABall@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

11

Los Angeles Peggy Hernandez PHernandez@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

Nonpublic Schools Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Theresa Costa Johansen MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

11

Los Angeles Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
Other Large Multi-Sites (Sierra, Spectrum, Point Quest) Matthew Hill MHill@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5577

Administrators

Intensive Monitoring:
Jack Brimhall, JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-9772

Targeted Monitoring:
Donna DeMartini, DDeMartini@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-4632
James Johnson, JamJohns@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-6966

SELPA Local Plan
Lisa Stie, LStie@cde.ca.gov, 916-323-2409

Certification and Monitoring Nonpublic Schools:
Theresa Costa Johansen, TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-0141

Questions:   Special Education Division | 916-445-4613
Last Reviewed: Monday, June 29, 2020
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • New Regulations for Special Education Complaints (added 06-Jul-2020)
    The purpose of this memo is to provide guidance on some key clarifications and/or changes in the state regulations.
  • Guidance for LEA Onsite Visit to NPS (updated 30-Jun-2020)
    Pursuant to AB 1172, effective January 1, 2020, the CDE is required to create and publish criteria for reporting onsite visit findings resulting from monitoring visits to nonpublic, nonsectarian schools (NPS), on or before June 30, 2020.
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 29-Jun-2020)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.
  • ACSE Meeting Webcasts (updated 22-Jun-2020)
    Live and recent webcasts of the California Advisory Commission for Special Education (ACSE) meetings.
  • ACSE Agenda June 17, 2020 (updated 16-Jun-2020)
    Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE) meeting agenda.