Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region

The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.

The FMTAs are responsible for coordinating all monitoring and technical assistance activities for the local educational agencies (LEAs) and special education local plan areas (SELPAs) in their assigned counties, providing information, and facilitating access to technical assistance related to program monitoring and program implementation.

Regional Map

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County

 

County Assigned Consultants

Intensive Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jill Whitehair JWhitehair@cde.ca.gov

916-322-0373

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
3 El Dorado Charter Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
4 Alameda (Dublin Unified and Pleasanton Unified), Marin, Solano Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
4 Alameda (all other LEAs), Napa Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849
4 Contra Costa Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
4 San Francisco, San Mateo Aaron Christensen AaChristensen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-3308

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Kishaun Thorntona
KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727
5 Santa Clara Josh Rucker JRucker@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2491

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Jill Whitehair JWhitehair@cde.ca.gov 916-322-0373

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Andrea Gallagher AGallagher@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Andrea Gallagher AGallagher@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Sean Howland SHowland@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4547

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Shirley Waegell SWaegell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3533
11 Los Angeles Bret Galeste BGaleste@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303

Targeted Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jeffrey Reyes JeReyes@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3543

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity D'Andrea Chapman DChapman@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Alison Greenwood AGreenwood@cde.ca.gov 916-327-9626
3 El Dorado (El Dorado County Charter SELPA) Alison Greenwood
Lynne Boone
Shakshi Sharma
AGreenwood@cde.ca.gov
LBoone@cde.ca.gov
ShaSharma@cde.ca.gov
916-327-9626
916-327-3703
916-322-2235

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Vincent Pastorino VPastorino@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0839

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne David Grundon DGrundon@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare D'Andrea Chapman DChapman@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Jacqueline Stewart JStewart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-1064

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Jeffrey Reyes JeReyes@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3543

11

Los Angeles

Tamara McMillan TMcMillan@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1852

SELPA Local Plan Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Everett Start EStart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Erin Rodrigues ERodrigues@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Emily Bunnell EBunnell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Everett Start EStart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Emily Bunnell EBunnell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Everett Start EStart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Erin Rodrigues ERodrigues@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Emily Bunnell EBunnell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

11

Los Angeles Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

Nonpublic Schools Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536
9 Orange Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585
9 Imperial, San Diego Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

11

Los Angeles Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
Other Large Multi-Sites (Sierra, Spectrum, Point Quest) Matthew Hill MHill@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5577

Small LEA Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Patricia Astin PAstin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3509

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656
4 Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Christina Toney CToney@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0443

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Christina Toney CToney@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0443

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Christina Toney CToney@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0443

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Patricia Astin PAstin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3509
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Emily Ingram EIngram@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0668

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Emily Ingram EIngram@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0668
11 Los Angeles

Emily Ingram
Patricia Astin

EIngram@cde.ca.gov
PAstin@cde.ca.gov
916-319-0668
916-327-3509

Administrators

Intensive Monitoring:
Jack Brimhall, JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-9772
Barbara Gaskin, BGaskin@cde.ca.gov, 916-324-8898

Targeted Monitoring:
Donna DeMartini, DDeMartini@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-4632
James Johnson, JamJohns@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-6966

Small LEA Monitoring:
Carmen Barnhart, CBarnhart@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-7308

SELPA Local Plan:
John Burch, JBurch@cde.ca.gov, 916-323-2409

Certification and Monitoring Nonpublic Schools:
Theresa Costa Johansen, TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-0141

Questions:   Special Education Division | 916-445-4613
Last Reviewed: Friday, September 16, 2022
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • Cyclical Monitoring for Small LEAs (updated 26-Sep-2022)
    This is the home page for local educational agencies (LEAs) that have been selected for Special Education Cyclical Monitoring.
  • Workability I Grant Conditions Guidance (added 20-Sep-2022)
    Guidance for the 2022-23 Workability Grant Conditions
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 16-Sep-2022)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.
  • Memorandum from the Director of Special Education (added 15-Sep-2022)
    This memorandum is intended to provide guidance on special education assessment of African American students for identification and placement and the Larry P. court decision.
  • Annual Performance Report Measures (updated 02-Sep-2022)
    Short summaries of special education program and student outcome data for California local educational agencies (LEAs).