Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region

The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.

The FMTAs are responsible for coordinating all monitoring and technical assistance activities for the local educational agencies (LEAs) and special education local plan areas (SELPAs) in their assigned counties, providing information, and facilitating access to technical assistance related to program monitoring and program implementation.

Regional Map

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County

 

County Assigned Consultants

Intensive Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Katrina Tupper KTupper@cde.ca.gov

916-327-3535

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
3 El Dorado Charter Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
4 Alameda (Dublin Unified and Pleasanton Unified), Marin, Solano Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
4 Alameda (all other LEAs), Napa Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849
4 Contra Costa Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
4 San Francisco, San Mateo Aaron Christensen AaChristensen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-3308

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Kishaun Thorntona
KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727
5 Santa Clara Josh Rucker JRucker@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2491

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Katrina Tupper KTupper@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3535

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Andrea Gallagher AGallagher@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Andrea Gallagher AGallagher@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Sean Howland SHowland@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4547

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Lorraine Garcia LGarcia@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3533
11 Los Angeles Bret Galeste BGaleste@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303
11 Los Angeles Katrina Tupper KTupper@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3535

Targeted Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jeffrey Reyes JeReyes@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3543

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity D'Andrea Chapman DChapman@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Kari Hudson

Vincent Pastorino

KHudson@cde.ca.gov

VPastorino@cde.ca.gov

916-322-2235

916-327-0839

3 El Dorado (El Dorado County Charter SELPA) Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov
916-327-3703

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano David Grundon DGrundon@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne David Grundon DGrundon@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare D'Andrea Chapman DChapman@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Jacqueline Stewart JStewart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-1064

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Vanessa Espinosa VEspinosa@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4601

11

Los Angeles

Tamara McMillan TMcMillan@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1852

SELPA Local Plan Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Vicky Tucker VTucker@cde.ca.gov 916-322-4269

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Vicky Tucker VTucker@cde.ca.gov 916-322-4269

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Everett Start EStart@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Julie Miller JMiller@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Julie Toy JToy@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1767

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Sherry Rickenbach SRickenbach@cde.ca.gov 916-323-9782

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Emily Bunnell EBunnell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Sherry Rickenbach SRickenbach@cde.ca.gov 916-323-9782
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Erin Rodrigues ERodrigues@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Emily Bunnell EBunnell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

11

Los Angeles Samantha Roan SRoan@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3674

Nonpublic Schools Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Nonpublic Schools Unit NPSA@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3153
916-445-4585

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Melissa Elvidge MElvidge@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2590

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Melissa Elvidge MElvidge@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2590

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Melissa Elvidge MElvidge@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2590
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Melissa Elvidge MElvidge@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2590

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Melissa Elvidge MElvidge@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2590

11

Los Angeles Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
Other Large Multi-Sites (Sierra, Spectrum, Point Quest) Matthew Hill MHill@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5577

Small LEA Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Patricia Astin PAstin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3509

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656
4 Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Carissa Lagasca CLagasca@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Patricia Astin PAstin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3509
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081
11 Los Angeles FMTA Small LEAs Unit SmallMonitoring@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0081
11 Los Angeles Patricia Astin PAstin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3509

Administrators

Intensive Monitoring:
Jack Brimhall, JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-9772
Barbara Gaskin, BGaskin@cde.ca.gov, 916-324-8898

Targeted Monitoring:
Donna DeMartini, DDeMartini@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-4632
James Johnson, JamJohns@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-6966

Small LEA Monitoring:
Carmen Barnhart, CBarnhart@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-7308

SELPA Local Plan:
John Burch, JBurch@cde.ca.gov, 916-323-2409

Certification and Monitoring Nonpublic Schools:
Theresa Costa Johansen, TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-0141

Questions:   Special Education Division | 916-445-4613
Last Reviewed: Thursday, February 08, 2024
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • Local Educational Agency Grants (updated 23-Feb-2024)
    Program summaries and information on specific federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act grants allocated to provide services to individuals with disabilities.
  • FY 2023-24 Federal Grant ER Instructions (added 23-Feb-2024)
    Fiscal Year 2023-24 special education federal grant expenditure report (ER) instructions contain information regarding reporting periods, due dates, payments, and other required documentation.
  • WAI State Advisory Meeting March 13, 2024 (added 16-Feb-2024)
    Workability I (WAI) State Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda.
  • ACSE Agenda February 21-22, 2024 (added 09-Feb-2024)
    Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE) meeting agenda.
  • FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region (updated 08-Feb-2024)
    The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.