Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region

The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.

The FMTAs are responsible for coordinating all monitoring and technical assistance activities for the local educational agencies and Special Education Local Plan Areas in their assigned counties, providing information, and facilitating access to technical assistance related to program monitoring and program implementation.

Regional Map

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County

 

County Assigned Consultants

Comprehensive Review Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Heidi Brahms HBrahms@cde.ca.gov

916-322-0373

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Bernd Reynolds BReynolds@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
3 Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Jack Brimhall JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-9772
3 El Dorado Charter Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Rose Penrose RPenrose@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3674
4 Marin, Napa Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Peggy Hernandez
PHernandez@cde.ca.gov
916-323-2616
5 Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Matt Wilkins MWilkins@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-327-4219

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Linda Moscatelli LMoscatelli@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2491

9

Orange Sean Howland SHowland@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4547
9 Imperial, San Diego Aaron Christensen AaChristensen@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0668

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Shirley Waegell SWaegell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3533

11

Los Angeles

Jim Durgin

JDurgin@cde.ca.gov

916-445-7303

11 Los Angeles Monica Pecarovich MPecarovich@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3535
11 Los Angeles Matt Wilkins MWilkins@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4559

Disproportionality Review Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Lisa Bojé LBoje@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Susan Olsen SOlsen@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Kishaun Thorntona KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Kishaun Thorntona KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Susan Olsen SOlsen@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Susan Olsen SOlsen@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

11

Los Angeles

Lisa Bojé LBoje@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684

Performance Indicator Review Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3703

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Vincent Pastorino VPastorino@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0839

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz John Burch JBurch@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne John Burch JBurch@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura John Burch JBurch@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0296
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Vincent Pastorino VPastorino@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0839

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

11

Los Angeles Kristen Brown KBrown@cde.ca.gov 916-445-1064

Data Identified Noncompliance Review Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Theresa Costa Johansen TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2409

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Theresa Costa Johansen TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2409

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Theresa Costa Johansen TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2409

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Linda Wyatt LWyatt@cde.ca.gov 916-322-3254

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Barbara Gaskin BGaskin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Barbara Gaskin BGaskin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3536

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Richard Gifford RGifford@cde.ca.gov 916-323-9782

11

Los Angeles Theresa Costa Johansen TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2409

Nonpublic Schools Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Scharmela Edwards SEdwards@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3699

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

11

Los Angeles Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
Other Large Multi-Sites (Sierra, Spectrum, Point Quest) Matthew Hill MHill@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5577

Administrators

Comprehensive Review:
Jack Brimhall, JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-9772
Lisa Stie, LStie@cde.ca.gov, 916-324-8898

Disproportionality Review:
James Johnson, JamJohns@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-6966

Performance Indicator Review:
Donna DeMartini, DDeMartini@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-4632

Data Identified Noncompliance Review:
Theresa Costa Johansen, TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov, 916-323-2409

Nonpublic Schools:
Tina Tranzor, TTranzor@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-0141

Questions:   Special Education Division | 916-445-4613
Last Reviewed: Thursday, June 13, 2019
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • The EDge Newsletter (added 08-Jul-2019)
    This page hosts The EDge newsletter, published three times a year by the California Department of Education, and highlights information, changes, and achievements in Special Education for the State of California.
  • CA Guide for Educating EL with Disabilities (PDF) (added 01-Jul-2019)
    A guide to identifying, assessing, supporting, and reclassifying English learners with disabilities as required by Assembly Bill 2785, Chapter 579, Statutes of 2016.
  • ACSE Agenda June 19-20, 2019 (added 07-Jun-2019)
    Advisory Commission on Special Education (ACSE) meeting agenda.