Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

FMTA Consultant Assignments by Region

The Focused Monitoring and Technical Assistance (FMTA) Consultants are assigned geographically and by quality assurance activity to align with the eleven California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) regions.

The FMTAs are responsible for coordinating all monitoring and technical assistance activities for the local educational agencies and special education local plan areas (SELPAs) in their assigned counties, providing information, and facilitating access to technical assistance related to program monitoring and program implementation.

Regional Map

California Counties by Region: Region 1 - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, and Sonoma Counties; Region 2 - Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties; Region 3 - Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties; Region 4 - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Solano Counties; Region 5 - Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties; Region 6 - Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties; Region 7 - Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, and Tulare Counties; Region 8 - Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties; Region 9 - Imperial, Orange, and San Diego Counties; Region 10 - Inyo, Mono, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties; Region 11 - Los Angeles County

 

County Assigned Consultants

Intensive Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jill Whitehair JWhitehair@cde.ca.gov

916-322-0373

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Jim Durgin JDurgin@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3537
3 El Dorado Charter Jasmine Ayten JAyten@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1849

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Napa, Solano Angela Katzakis AKatzakis@cde.ca.gov 916-445-0789
4 Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo Aaron Christensen AaChristensen@cde.ca.gov 916-323-3308

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Jill Whitehair
JWhitehair@cde.ca.gov 916-322-0373

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Kishaun Thorntona KThorntona@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5727

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Josh Rucker JRucker@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara Lisa Bojé LBoje@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3684
8 Ventura Bret Galeste BGaleste@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303
9 Orange, Imperial, San Diego Sean Howland SHowland@cde.ca.gov 916-445-4547

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Shirley Waegell SWaegell@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3533
11 Los Angeles Monica Pecarovich MPecarovich@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3535
11 Los Angeles Bret Galeste BGaleste@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7303

Targeted Monitoring Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Jeffrey Reyes JeReyes@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3543

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Anthony Sotelo ASotelo@cde.ca.gov 916-322-2235

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Alison Greenwood AGreenwood@cde.ca.gov 916-327-9626

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Vincent Pastorino VPastorino@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0839

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Libbey Durkee LDurkee@cde.ca.gov 916-327-0863

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3703

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare D'Andrea Chapman DChapman@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0491

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Nicole Garibaldi NGaribaldi@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0298
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3703

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Lynne Boone LBoone@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3703

11

Los Angeles

Tamara McMillan TMcMillan@cde.ca.gov 916-322-1852

SELPA Local Plan Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474
9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Shari Presnall SPresnall@cde.ca.gov 916-445-7474

11

Los Angeles Brad Lacy BLacy@cde.ca.gov 916-323-2616

Nonpublic Schools Consultants

CCSESA Region Counties Consultant(s) Email Telephone Number

1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

2

Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

3

Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656

4

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

5

Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

6

Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne Steve Perez StPerez@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0581

7

Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

8

Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536
9 Orange Linda Ramos LRamos@cde.ca.gov 916-327-3656
9 Imperial, San Diego Jeff Kramer JKramer@cde.ca.gov 916-327-8877

10

Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino Christine Krause CKrause@cde.ca.gov 916-324-4536

11

Los Angeles Michele Donahue MDonahue@cde.ca.gov 916-319-0769
Other Large Multi-Sites (Sierra, Spectrum, Point Quest) Matthew Hill MHill@cde.ca.gov 916-445-5577

Administrators

Intensive Monitoring:
Jack Brimhall, JBrimhall@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-9772
Barbara Gaskin, BGaskin@cde.ca.gov, 916-324-8898

Targeted Monitoring:
Donna DeMartini, DDeMartini@cde.ca.gov, 916-445-4632
James Johnson, JamJohns@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-6966

SELPA Local Plan
John Burch, JBurch@cde.ca.gov, 916-323-2409

Certification and Monitoring Nonpublic Schools:
Theresa Costa Johansen, TCostaJohansen@cde.ca.gov, 916-327-0141

Questions:   Special Education Division | 916-445-4613
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Recently Posted in Special Education
  • Disproportionality in CA Public Schools (updated 22-Jul-2021)
    Impacts on Special Education including information and resources on disproportionate representation by race and ethnicity of students receiving special education services.
  • 2021 Significantly Disproportionate LEAs (added 22-Jul-2021)
    A list of the local educational agencies (LEAs) identified as significantly disproportionate for the 2021 fiscal year.
  • California Special Education Local Plan Areas (updated 14-Jul-2021)
    Service area covered by a special education local plan and the governance structure created under any of the planning options of Section 56205, 56206, 56208, 56211, 56213, 56241, 56243, 56244, & 56245 of the Education Code.
  • Expenditure Report Instructions (added 22-Jun-2021)
    Expenditure report instructions contain information regarding reporting periods, due dates, payments, and other required documentation.
  • WAI Regional Meeting and Bank Account Guidance (added 15-Jun-2021)
    This letter provides guidance related to regional bank accounts for grantees in the Workability I program.