California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)
CHSPE is a test for students who need to verify high school level skills. In some cases, students take the test and leave high school early to work or attend college. Those who pass the test receive a Certificate of Proficiency from the State Board of Education, which is equal by law to a California high school diploma.
People who are 16 years of age or older may take the test. Younger people who meet other criteria can also take the test. This test is given twice each year at many sites in California. The test covers three subjects: reading, writing, and math. There is a fee to take the test.
Please visit the CHSPE Web site for information on CHSPE registration and requests for records.
Documents for use with administration of the CHSPE.
Provide information on the CHSPE.
Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to frequently asked questions about the CHSPE.
Annual Report and Program Notes
Homeless Fee Waiver Request (PDF)
To obtain a waiver for CHSPE test registration fee each eligible homeless child or youth under 25 years of age must complete and date this form and obtain approval of an authorized homeless services provider. Please read all instructions before filling out the form.