Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo


Information regarding the development, coordination, and implementation of statewide testing programs in California.

The California Department of Education (CDE) is committed to establishing innovative achievement and proficiency assessments for students. These assessments include item types that model and promote high-quality teaching and student learning and ensure that all of California students are well prepared for college and careers in today’s competitive global economy. For more information on the development and implementation of statewide student testing in California, go to the CDE Assessment Information Web page.

A to Z Index of Assessment Resources

To search by topic, view the A to Z Index of Assessment Resources Web page.

Achievement Tests

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System
The CAASPP System includes computer-based assessments that are aligned with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).

  • Smarter Balanced System of Assessments
    Aligned with the CCSS for English-language arts/Literacy and mathematics, this system includes summative assessments for students in grades three through eight and grade eleven as well as interim assessments and the Digital Library of formative assessment resources for all students.
  • California Science Test (CAST)
    The CDE is developing a new science assessment based on the California Next Generation Science Standards. The CAST will be given to students enrolled in grades five and eight and once in high school.
  • California Alternate Assessments (CAAs)
    The CAAs for ELA, mathematics, and Science are aligned with alternate achievement standards—called the Core Content Connectors (CCCs)—and linked to the California Content Standards. Only eligible students may participate in the administration of the CAAs.
  • Grade Two Diagnostic Assessments
    Diagnostic assessments in English-language arts and mathematics to aid teachers in the development of language arts and computational skills of students in grade two.

Language Proficiency Tests

California English Language Development Test (CELDT)
Information for the CELDT, a required state test for English language proficiency that must be given to students whose primary language is other than English.

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)
The ELPAC will be the successor to the CELDT. The CDE is transitioning from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state English Language Proficiency assessment by spring 2018.

High School Proficiency and Equivalency Tests

High School Equivalency Tests (HSET)
Information regarding California’s three high school equivalency tests (GED®, HiSET®, and TASC™) for students 18 years old and older, and 17 years old in some instances, for the purpose of receiving a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)
Information for persons who want to leave high school early; includes frequently asked questions, test dates, and toll-free number for assistance.

Other Important Tests

Physical Fitness Testing (PFT)
Information regarding the physical fitness test required to be administered to students in grades five, seven, and nine.

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
Program resources, assessment results, and assistance for participating districts and schools in California.

California High School Exit Examination (CAHSEE)
This link provides information about the CAHSEE. Education Code Section 60851 suspends the CAHSEE requirement through the 2017–18 school year.

Questions:   Assessment Development and Administration Division | 916-319-0803
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, August 30, 2017