Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Regional Assessment Network

Map of California and regional contact information for the Regional Assessment Network (RAN).

The County Office of Education (COE) RAN members represent a sub-committee of the Curriculum and Instruction Steering Committee (CISC) of the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA). The purpose of RAN is to develop a knowledge and understanding about California’s assessment and accountability systems by facilitating communication between the California Department of Education (CDE) and COEs, which represent the schools, districts, and county offices in their region.

Map of regional assessment network as outlined in the table below.

The RAN is a joint effort of the CISC and the Assessment and Accountability Division of the CDE. The decision about whom to appoint as an official COE RAN member is a regional decision, not determined by the CDE. For more information about RAN, contact your regional representative listed below.

Regional Contact Information

Regions Counties Regional Assessment Network (RAN)
Contacts
1

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino,
Sonoma

Rick Phelan
Sonoma County Office of Education
707-524-2847
rphelan@scoe.org

2 Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

Chris Dell
Shasta County Department of Education
530-225-2048
cdell@shastacoe.org

Amy Barker
Shasta County Department of Education
530-605-2701
abarker@shastacoe.org

3 Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada,
Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Rachel Perry
Sacramento County Office of Education
916-228-2669
rperry@scoe.net

4 Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa,
San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano
Pamela Tyson
Contra Costa County Office of Education
925-942-3381
ptyson@cccoe.k12.ca.us
5 Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz

Dan Mason
Santa Clara County Office of Education
408-453-4346
dan_mason@sccoe.org

Ramiro Reyes
Monterey County Office of Education
831-755-0300 ext 110
rreyes@montereycoe.org

6 Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Jill Polhemus
Stanislaus County Office of Education
209-238-1326
jpolhemus@stancoe.org

Lisa Neugebauer
San Joaquin County Office of Education
209-468-9052
lineugebauer@sjcoe.net

7 Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare

Corey Greenlaw
Fresno County Office of Education
559-970-6542
cgreenlaw@fcoe.org

8 San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura, Kern

Lori Aragon
Kern County Office of Education
661-636-4650
loaragon@kern.org

Heidi Christensen
Ventura County Office of Education
805-383-1919
hchristensen@vcoe.org

9 Imperial, Orange, San Diego

Jeanette Montano
Imperial County Office of Education
760-312-6578
jmontano@icoe.org

Diane Ehrle
Orange County Office of Education
714-966-4108
dehrle@ocde.us

10 San Bernardino, Inyo, Riverside, Mono

Chun-Wu Li
Riverside County Office of Education
951-826-6601
cli@rcoe.us

Beth Higbee
San Bernardino County Office of Education
909-386-2600
beth_higbee@sbcss.k12.ca.us

Robin McIver-Brown
San Bernardino County Office of Education
909-386-2669
robin_mciver-brown@sbcss.k12.ca.us

11 Los Angeles

Kathryn Edwards
Los Angeles County Office of Education
562-922-6810
edwards_kathryn@lacoe.edu

Jessica Conkle
Los Angeles County Office of Education
562-922-6742
conkle_jessica@lacoe.edu

Questions:   Assessment Development and Administration Division | 916-319-0803
Last Reviewed: Monday, March 26, 2018
Recently Posted in Testing
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 261 (added 27-Jun-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) email update, June 27, 2018.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 260 (added 14-Jun-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) email update, June 13, 2018.
  • New CAASPP Coordinator Training Videos (added 13-Jun-2018)
    Videos from the New California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Coordinator trainings.
  • ELPAC Academy Videos (added 12-Jun-2018)
    Trainging videos on the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC).
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 259 (added 08-Jun-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, June 7, 2018.

  • Formative Assessment in Action Video Series (updated 04-Jun-2018)
    The Formative Assessment in Action Video Series (hyperlink to YouTube channel) features California members of the Digital Library State Network of Educators (SNE) demonstrating formative assessment techniques in their classrooms.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 258 (added 31-May-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 30, 2018.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 257 (added 29-May-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 23, 2018.
  • CAASPP Update, Issue 256 (added 24-May-2018)
    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) e-mail update, May 16, 2018.