Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

December 17, 2013 ELA/ELD SMC Meeting Minutes

State of California
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

Instructional Quality Commission
An advisory body to the California State Board of Education

FINAL MEETING MINUTES: December 17, 2013

English Language Arts/English Language Development Subject Matter Committee Meeting

(Approved on March 28, 2014)

Report of Action

Tuesday, December 17, 2013
4 to 4:30 p.m.

English Language Arts/English Language Development (ELA/ELD) Subject Matter Committee (SMC) Members Participating:
  • Jo Ann Isken, Chair
  • Jose Dorado
  • Carla Herrera
  • Kristyn Bennett
Additional Instructional Quality Commission (IQC) Members Participating:
  • Bill Honig, IQC Chair
  • Julie Spykerman
Members of the Public:
  • Laurie Manville, Literacy and ELD Curriculum Specialist, Anaheim Union High School District
  • Magdalena Ruz Gonzalez, Project Director III, Multilingual Academic Support Unit, CIS, Los Angeles County Office of Education (LACOE)
  • Michelle Herczog, History/Social Science Consultant II, CIS, LACOE
  • Mina Shiratori, Assistant Principal, El Marino Language Academy
California Department of Education (CDE) Staff:
  • Tom Adams
  • Kristen Cruz Allen
  • Lillian Perez
  • Cynthia Gunderson
  • Renee Ousley-Swank
  • Tracie Yee
English Language Arts/English Language Development Subject Matter Committee
  1. Welcome and Introductions

    ELA/ELD SMC Chair Isken called the meeting to order. All participating ELA/ELD SMC members and IQC members verified the posting of the public meeting notice and introduced any public members. The CDE staff members were also identified.

  2. Discussion to Create an Appendix to the ELA/ELD Framework that Explains the Role of Literature in the Implementation of the CA Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for ELA/Literacy (Information/Action)

    Chair Isken noted that this was the only order of business for the conference call. During the November IQC meeting the suggestion was made to create an appendix to the ELA/ELD Framework that explains the role of literature in the implementation of the CA CCSS for ELA/Literacy. A one-page prospectus was attached to the agenda that provided more background information and the purpose. Chair Honig and Tom Adams have discussed the appendix with Carol Jago, Co-Director of the California Reading and Literature Project at UCLA, and she is available to draft the agenda with an anticipated due date in mid-January. Members discussed some clarification to the prospectus, with the addition of a biliteracy focus and reference to world literature and libraries, reference to resources at County Offices of Education and the CDE specifically for Spanish, addressing struggling readers and complex texts (complementing what is already in the framework), and some additional guidance for high school on selection of appropriate books. It was noted that Dr. Jago is not a biliteracy expert and that Commissioners may need to help and add some of these other components. Staff will revise the prospectus based on the discussion.

    Members also discussed forwarding the draft ELA/ELD framework to other experts in the field. All ELA/ELD Curriculum Framework and Evaluation Criteria Committee members were notified of the draft being posted, in addition to a list of interested groups, individuals, and publishers who have been sent notices throughout the framework development process. Staff will send a letter from Chair Honig to Sue Pimentel, David Liben, and Meredith Liben at Students Achieve, Carol Jago, and Lilly Fong Filmore. Chair Honig noted that he had already sent a notice to David Pearson, Connie Juel, and Bob Calfee. Members were advised to send any other possible names to Tracie Yee.


    Commissioner Bennett moved that the CDE staff work with Carol Jago to write an appendix to the ELA/ELD Framework that explains the role of literature in the implementation of the CA CCSS for ELA/Literacy. The proposal for the appendix will be revised by staff to include the discussion during the conference call and will be forwarded to Chair Honig and ELA/ELD SMC Chair Isken for approval. Commissioner Herrera seconded the motion. There was no discussion or public comment. The motion was approved unanimously by the ELA/ELD SMC members present.

  1. Public Comment: None
Last Reviewed: Thursday, August 24, 2017
Trending in Commissions & Committees
Recently Posted in Commissions & Committees