Management Bulletin 15-06
While the California Department of Education continues to operate the California State Preschool Program, the Early Childhood Development Act of 2020 (Senate Bill (SB) 98, Chapter 24, Statutes of 2020) authorized the transfer of many childcare programs from the California Department of Education to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) effective July 1, 2021. The content on this page may include programs that have moved to CDSS. For additional assistance you can either visit the CDSS Child Care Transition web page or call 1-833-559-2420 for more information.
Early Learning and Care Division
Subject: Fiscal Year 2015-16 Standard Reimbursement Rate
Date: July 2015
Expires: Until Rescinded
Authority: 2015 Budget Act Items 6100-194-0001, provision 5 and 6100-196-0001, provision 3. California Education Code Section 8265 (b)
Attention: Executive Director and Program Administrators of CCTR, CSPP, CMIG and CHAN Contractors
The purpose of this Management Bulletin (MB) is to inform Early Learning and Care Division (ELCD) CCTR, CSPP, CMIG and CHAN contractors of the increase to the standard reimbursement rate (SRR) and the creation of a full-day state preschool program rate.
The 2015 Budget Act includes the new rates of $38.29 for general child care programs (CCTR) in Item 6100-194-0001, provision 5 and $23.87 for part-day state preschool programs in Item 6100-196-0001, provision 3. Also included in both items is the creation of a new full-day state preschool program rate of $38.53.
The SRR was increased for Fiscal Year 2015-16. The SRR for both general child care and part-day state preschool programs was increased by 5% plus an additional 1.02% for the cost-of-living adjustment (COLA). The SRR for the part-day state preschool program was increased by an additional 1% to compensate for new requirements placed upon CSPP contractors. These new requirements are related to annual teacher training and providing parents with information on accessing local resources for screening and treatment of developmental disabilities. Additionally, due to this 1% increase, there is a new maximum rate to be used specifically for the full-day state preschool program. Further directions regarding the new requirements are forthcoming.
Child Development Fiscal Services (CDFS) will revise the Attendance and Fiscal Report Form (CDFS 8501) for the 2015-16 fiscal year. Adjustment factors will be revised to implement changes enacted in the Budget Act of 2015 to ensure that contractors are reimbursed according to the new part-day and full-day Preschool rates. CDFS will provide additional information in its 2015-16 Child Care and Development Contract Changes letter that will be issued in late July.
The new rates identified in the Budget Act will be effective beginning July 1, 2015. The Reimbursement Fact Sheet has been updated to reflect the new rates and can be found at
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/op/factsheet15.asp [Note: the preceding URL is no longer available].
If you have any questions regarding the information in this MB, please contact your assigned ELCD Field Services Consultant at http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/assignments.asp or by phone at 916-322-6233.
This Management Bulletin is mandatory only to the extent that it cites a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement. Any portion of this Management Bulletin that is not supported by a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement is not prescriptive pursuant to California Education Code Section 33308.5.