Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

April 29, 2013 Math SMC Meeting Minutes

State of California
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

Instructional Quality Commission
An advisory body to the California State Board of Education


Final Meeting Minutes: April 29, 2013

Mathematics Subject Matter Committee Teleconference Meeting

(Approved on May 10, 2013)

Report of Action

April 29, 2013
8 to 8:20 a.m.

Mathematics Subject Matter Committee (MSMC) Chair Ed D’Souza called the meeting to order.

  1. Welcome and Introductions (Information)

Commissioners and California Department of Education (CDE) staff present at the five sites participating in the conference call identified themselves.

The following Commissioners participated:

  • Ed D’Souza at Cesar Chavez/Dolores Huerta Center for Education
  • Jose Dorado at Osceola Street Elementary School
  • Lori Freiermuth at Olympian High School
  • Julie Spykerman at Anaheim Union High School District

The following Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources Division (CFIRD) staff members were present at the CDE, Sacramento:

  • Tom Adams
  • Cliff Rudnick
  • Dmitriy Voloshin
  • Terri Yan
  1. 2014 Mathematics Instructional Materials Adoption (Information/Action)
    1. Recommendation of Reviewers and Facilitators

MSMC Chair D’Souza asked Dmitriy Voloshin, CFIRD staff, to address the committee. Mr. Voloshin noted that at the March 21–22, 2013, meeting the full Instructional Quality Commission (IQC) delegated authority to the MSMC to approve additional applicants for Instructional Materials Reviewers (IMR) and Content Review (CRE) experts for the 2014 Mathematics Instructional Materials Primary Adoption. Since the March meeting, the MSMC approved an additional 29 applications for IMRs and no additional applications for CREs. At the meeting today, 39 additional IMRs and 6 CREs are under consideration. None of the applicants stated any conflict of interest; therefore, the CFIRD staff recommended that all applicants be considered for approval.

Applications Received April 15, 2013 through April 25, 2013
Submission ID Applicant Type First Name Last Name
758 Reviewer Jaime Bonato
759 Reviewer Leanne Leonard
761 Reviewer Linda Laymon
762 Reviewer Rona Dosen
766 Reviewer Jill Warriner
767 Reviewer Michele Lenertz
768 Reviewer Long Truong
769 Reviewer Lisa Wright
770 Reviewer Jeffrey Linder
771 Reviewer Patricia Birk
772 Reviewer Lisa Amenta
773 Reviewer Anna Kearney
774 Reviewer Mary Ann Lyons
775 Reviewer James Sheldon
776 Reviewer Angelica Trujillo
777 Reviewer Linda Spincola
778 Reviewer Yolanda Munoz
779 Reviewer Leah Leonard
780 Reviewer Gertrude Cowan
781 Reviewer Peter Iroekwe
782 Reviewer Maria Hirsch
783 Reviewer Erica Olmstead
784 Content Review Expert Eli Goldwyn
786 Reviewer Vinh Lam
787 Reviewer Lillie Dabai
788 Reviewer Tim Leonard
789 Reviewer Jean Mbomeda
790 Reviewer Joan Commons
792 Reviewer Katharine Clemmer
793 Reviewer Kimberly Samuel
794 Content Review Expert Susan Addington
795 Content Review Expert Javier Trigos
796 Reviewer Jack Bloom
797 Reviewer Kathy Schwicket
798 Reviewer Sara Tolle
799 Content Review Expert Philip Ogbuehi
800 Reviewer Shirley Guzman
801 Reviewer Daina Lujan
802 Reviewer Sharie Dodd
803 Reviewer Jennifer Bourgeois
804 Content Review Expert Angelo Segalla
805 Content Review Expert Jean Simutis
806 Reviewer Andrea Kojima
807 Reviewer Pamela Alvarado
808 Reviewer Jacqueline Carter

Including applicants reviewed today, there are a total of 120 applicants consisting of 109 IMRs and 6 CREs. With the goal of at least 100 applicants met, new applications are no longer being accepted.

There was no other discussion. MSMC Chair D’Souza called for a motion.

ACTION: Commissioner Freiermuth moved to recommend approval of the additional Instructional Materials Reviewers to the State Board of Education. Commissioner Spykerman seconded the motion. There was no discussion or public comment.

There was a roll call vote. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the members present (4–0).

  1. Public Comment: None

MSMC Chair D’Souza adjourned the meeting.

Last Reviewed: Thursday, August 10, 2017
Trending in Commissions & Committees
Recently Posted in Commissions & Committees