Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

March 27, 2017 H-SS SMC Minutes

State of California
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

Instructional Quality Commission
An advisory body to the California State Board of Education

History–Social Science Subject Matter Committee Teleconference Meeting
(Approved on May 18, 2017)



Report of Action
Monday, March 27, 2017

History–Social Science Subject Matter Committee (SMC) Members Participating:
  • SMC Chair Bill Honig in Mill Valley, CA
  • SMC Vice Chair Jose Flores at Brawley Union High School, Brawley, CA
  • Jose Iniguez at Fallbrook Union High School District Office, Fallbrook, CA
  • Risha Krishna at Joe Michell School, Livermore, CA
  • Melanie Murphy-Corwin at Ontario-Montclair School District Office, Ontario, CA
  • Nicole Naditz at College Park High School, Pleasant Hill, CA
  • Julie Tonkovich at California High School, Whittier, CA
  • Commission Chair Lizette Diaz at Ontario-Montclair School District Office, Ontario, CA
California Department of Education (CDE) Staff Participating:
  • Stephanie Gregson at Westin Bonaventure Hotel, Los Angeles, CA
  • Cliff Rudnick at CDE
  • Ken McDonald at CDE
  • David Almquist at CDE
  • Tracie Yee at CDE

State Board of Education (SBE) Liaisons Participating:
  • Patricia Rucker at Westin Bonaventure Hotel, Los Angeles, CA

Public Member Participants:
  • Kimberly Plummer, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, at CDE

  1. History–Social Science Subject Matter Committee
    1.   Call to Order
      SMC Chair Bill Honig called the History–Social Science SMC meeting to order at approximately 3:30 p.m. All participants introduced themselves, verified the posting of the public meeting notice. The CDE staff members were also identified.
    1. 2017 History–Social Science Instructional Materials Adoption (Information/Action)
      1. Review Instructional Material Reviewers (IMR) and Content Review Experts (CRE) Panel Assignments
        CDE staff presented recommendations for the assignment of IMRs and CREs to 10 review panels. The staff recommendation also included the assignment of CDE staff to support the panels.

        The panel assignment recommendation was based upon the requirements of the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Section 9519, which states that review panels should consist of between 5 and 15 members, a majority of which are IMRs that are classroom teachers, and at least one CRE. In order to ensure that the panels meet that requirement, the CDE recommended that six non-teacher IMRs not be assigned to panels. After hearing the staff recommendation the SMC assigned Commissioners and other individuals approved by the SBE to serve as panel facilitators. The panel facilitators were assigned as follows:

        Panel 1:   Commissioner Broemmelsiek
        Panel 2:   Commissioner Chao
        Panel 3:   Commissioner Murphy-Corwin
        Panel 4:   Commissioner Flores
        Panel 5:   Commissioner Muller
        Panel 6:   Commissioner Tonkovich
        Panel 7:   Commissioner Woo
        Panel 8:   Former Commissioner Spykerman
        Panel 9:   Commissioner Naditz
        Panel 10: CDE Consultant David Almquist

        ACTION: Commissioner Krishna moved to recommend approval of panel assignments and facilitators. Commissioner Flores seconded the motion. There was no additional discussion or public comment. A roll call vote was taken. The motion was approved by a unanimous vote of the committee members present (8–0).

    1. Public Comment on Today’s Meeting Agenda Items: None

    1. Adjournment of Meeting

      SMC Chair Honig adjourned the meeting at approximately 3:50 p.m.
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Recently Posted in Commissions & Committees